Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2018, 02:10 PM   #1
jdupay
Member
 
jdupay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 67
Default Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

I have a 1929 Std Coupe. It has the 4 position switch. Left one click, Straight down, and right one click, right second click or said another way 7 o clock, 6 o clock, 5 o clock and 4 o clock. I am putting the car back together after painting and it seems to me 5 o clock used to activate low beam and 4 o clock used to activate high beam and now they are reversed??? Is it possible to put the wire holder assembly in wrong? I thought it was keyed. I also seem to have variable light output and I suspect I am not making good ground after the paint job and re-assembly. Is there a method to establish a solid ground connection....the positive ground always messes me up. I think I want to get something from the body to one of the light wires, but I am not certain if it goes there or just to the light body. Thoughts on this? Sorry simple stuff, but it isn't clicking for me.
__________________
Joe
Minneapolis, MN
1929 Std Coupe
jdupay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 02:19 PM   #2
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,804
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

I always run a separate ground wire to the headlights rather than depend on finding a ground path thru paint, rust, etc.
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-30-2018, 02:28 PM   #3
jdupay
Member
 
jdupay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 67
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

CarlG - That is what I was thinking would be a good plan. Just curious where do you connect on the headlight and then do you run it down the Chrome wire conduit to the frame?
__________________
Joe
Minneapolis, MN
1929 Std Coupe
jdupay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 03:33 PM   #4
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 6,375
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

5 should be low and 4 should be high, but, it really doesn't make much difference.

I too run a separate wire from each headlight socket thru the conduit to a good ground.
Patrick L. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 04:08 PM   #5
Fred S
Senior Member
 
Fred S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 134
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

Joe,

The ground wire needs to go on the light socket. I put a ring on a ground wire, and then ran the adjusting screw for the light socket thru the ring behind the socket. Then ran the wire thru the conduit to a ground.
Fred S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 05:06 PM   #6
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 861
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Just one thought, if you happen to be running sealed beam headlights with the 3-prong plug.

I am going from memory, but on the Model A, I believe the red headlight wire is low beam and the green wire is high. On the three prong plug, it's the opposite.

If you are running sealed beams, you may need to swap red to green on that particular connection in the headlight bucket.

If you are not running sealed beams, then forget the above.

I also ran a separate 16 gauge ground wire into the bucket through the conduit to a ground point where the radiator shell bolts to the support.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 06:03 PM   #7
frank55a
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 799
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

As far as the switch position goes, 4 should be high and 5 should be low 6 off and 7 parking light. It may be as simple as the you have the wires in the plug-in socket swapped. The red with black tracer should go to the low beam and Green with black tracer to the high beam.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wiring-DiagramColor2sm.jpg (93.5 KB, 24 views)
frank55a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 09:09 PM   #8
2manycars
Senior Member
 
2manycars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern CT
Posts: 2,732
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

Either the wires in the harness are in the wrong locations in the bakelite connector, or the repro sockets have the wires in the wrong locations.
__________________
Bill
www.brauchauto.com
2manycars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2018, 02:00 AM   #9
Richard in Anaheim CA
Senior Member
 
Richard in Anaheim CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Anaheim California
Posts: 488
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

Pull out each headlight bulb. Turn them over 180* and reinsert in socket.
Should do the trick
Richard in Anaheim CA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2018, 08:02 AM   #10
JDupuis
Senior Member
 
JDupuis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Maryhill Ont Canada
Posts: 834
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

What Richard said: x2. Jeff
__________________
Let's let pylons, be pylons!
JDupuis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2018, 08:15 AM   #11
aermotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 821
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank55a View Post
As far as the switch position goes, 4 should be high and 5 should be low 6 off and 7 parking light. It may be as simple as the you have the wires in the plug-in socket swapped. The red with black tracer should go to the low beam and Green with black tracer to the high beam.
I have this arrangement but the tail light (not brake light ) is on in #7 position. Is this considered a parking light? Earley 28 Tudor.

John
aermotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2018, 08:36 AM   #12
ryanheacox
Senior Member
 
ryanheacox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest CT
Posts: 1,071
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

Tail light should be on in all positions but 6 o'clock.

A bit off topic but do most people also run a separate ground to the tail light? I've lost mine twice now driving at night... not sure how to keep the ground path clean enough.
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 08:13 AM   #13
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,521
Default Re: Headlight Switch positions Swapped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanheacox View Post
Tail light should be on in all positions but 6 o'clock.

A bit off topic but do most people also run a separate ground to the tail light? I've lost mine twice now driving at night... not sure how to keep the ground path clean enough.
On my 1928 Phaeton I simply tucked a wire in the side of each bulb as I installed the bulbs. Due to hidden rust one of the sockets wasn't grounding, but now both bulbs work fine. Once I restore the taillight the rust will be gone.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.