Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2015, 10:19 PM   #1
Fred S
Senior Member
 
Fred S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 134
Default Gps

I have a GPS that's about 6 years old. When I try using it in my A, it constantly says "Searching for satellite." It works ok in my modern car.
I'm guessing ignition noise is causing the problem.

Anyone else having this problem with a GPS? Any solution? Thanks.

Last edited by Fred S; 05-31-2015 at 10:53 PM.
Fred S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 10:31 PM   #2
Fred K-OR
Senior Member
 
Fred K-OR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stayton, Oregon
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: Gps

I used a GPS in my 29 A coupe without problem. If it was an older GPS, some of them have an antenna that you had to put somewhere so that it could pick up the satellite. So you would have to hang it out the door or put it so it could spot the satellite. My older on had this type of setup whereas the newer one do not.

If someone wants a long story about how not to set up your 6 volt system to be able to plug in a 12 volt GPS, I have a very long story on what not to do!
__________________
Fred Kroon
1929 Std Coupe
1929 Huckster
Fred K-OR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-31-2015, 10:57 PM   #3
Bob Johnson
Senior Member
 
Bob Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: California
Posts: 893
Default Re: Gps

Where are you mounting the GPS? It requires a clear view of the sky to get the signals. Does your GPS currently work when not in the Model A? Does it work in the Model A with the engine off?

I no longer use a dedicated GPS. I mount my cell phone on the dash just in front of the steering wheel and use a GPS app. It is easy to glance down quickly and not loose sight of the road.

Bob
Bob Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 11:37 PM   #4
Fred S
Senior Member
 
Fred S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 134
Default Re: Gps

Fred-No external antenna. I did install a power source reversed for 6 volt positive ground. I've tried it plugged in, and also on its own power. No luck.

Bob-I tried it on the dash first, then the windshield. Seems like the fabric top should help (except for the chicken wire). It works in my livingroom, and it works in the A with the engine off, as far as planning a route.

It's a Tom Tom. Wondering if a newer GPS or different brand would work.
Fred S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 01:06 AM   #5
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,515
Default Re: Gps

My AMCOR is about 7 years old and works fine in my Model A and Studebaker.
Even when I first turn it on in my modern car, it usually says searching for a signal, then takes a few seconds to lock in.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 05:59 AM   #6
Jacksonlll
Senior Member
 
Jacksonlll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan-- Member of Oakleaf of MARC
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via ICQ to Jacksonlll
Default Re: Gps

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Give it more time. It will find the signal.
Jacksonlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 06:20 AM   #7
western77
Senior Member
 
western77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Grand Rapids Mi
Posts: 162
Default Re: Gps

I have a Tom Tom and could not get a good consistent signal on the 6 volt. I use a 6 v positive ground to 12 v negative ground adapter now and it works great. JB
western77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:23 AM   #8
wmws
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coatesville, Pa
Posts: 719
Default Re: Gps

Fred K-OR. Tell us what not to do. I just carry a small 12 volt battery in the car for my GPS. I was afraid to hook it up to a 6 volt positive ground. Will that work?
Thanks
wmws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 10:45 AM   #9
foxfire42
Senior Member
 
foxfire42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AZ and WA
Posts: 748
Default Re: Gps

Maybe your GPS is embarrassed to ride in an "old" car and this is it's way of getting out of it.
foxfire42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 11:05 AM   #10
Fred K-OR
Senior Member
 
Fred K-OR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stayton, Oregon
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: Gps

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmws View Post
Fred K-OR. Tell us what not to do. I just carry a small 12 volt battery in the car for my GPS. I was afraid to hook it up to a 6 volt positive ground. Will that work?
Thanks
wmws, I used a 6 volt to 12 volt converter to get the 12 volts needed for the GPS. But I neglected to worry about positive and negative. So the 12 volts had the wrong polarity. So after burning out a couple of connecter GPS plugs, non electric guy me, finally realized you had to hook up the proper polarity. After that and a couple of new GPS connecter plugs, I got it to work.
__________________
Fred Kroon
1929 Std Coupe
1929 Huckster
Fred K-OR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 11:49 AM   #11
wmws
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coatesville, Pa
Posts: 719
Default Re: Gps

Fred, Thanks for the reply. Glad I didn't hook mine up to the positive ground.
wmws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 11:54 AM   #12
Fred S
Senior Member
 
Fred S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 134
Default Re: Gps

Tom & Jacksonlll-I've taken it on back roads on a 40 mile trip, and it never gets past "searching for satellite."

Western77-I was running it on 6 volts, (read where GPS & cell phones only need 5 volts) so that may be the problem. When I charge my cell phone, it gets 'almost fully charged' but never shows fully charged. I'll try fully charging the unit in my modern car, and then try it. Looks like I may need the 6/12 volt adaptor.
Fred S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 11:54 AM   #13
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,515
Default Re: Gps

If you look on ebay for an insulated lighter socket, you can find them for a couple bucks from China. I bought a few and just used speaker wire to wire a couple clips or terminals on the end. I can then connect the center on the socket to ground and the insulated outside to a hot wire. This makes for a clean and easy installation to run my GPS. I can just lay the socket on the floor, or I could mount it somewhere to make it more permanent.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 12:11 PM   #14
Fred S
Senior Member
 
Fred S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 134
Default Re: Gps

Tom-That's what I've done, and have hidden the socket between the dash and tank. But the unit doesn't seem to like only 6 volts, or ignition noise is screwing it up.
Fred S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 01:06 PM   #15
pgerhardt
Senior Member
 
pgerhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Danbury Ct
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: Gps

I use an iPhone 6+ and the app GPS Drive for a GPS. The screen on the iPhone 6+ is as big or bigger than dedicated GPS devices, and with a bluetooth battery powered speaker slipped into the door pocket all my music needs are taken care of. Plus if, heaven forbid, we breakdown I can call for help!
pgerhardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 10:51 PM   #16
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Gps

Works engine off but not engine on? OK that tells us the voltage is ok and tells me you were correct about the ignition noise.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.