Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2020, 08:46 PM   #1
Standing Elk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St. Maries, Idaho
Posts: 139
Default Anyone using a horn relay

I see that some of the suppliers offer a horn relay that fits inside the horn cover, claiming that it will help the performance of your horn. Has anyone used one of these? If so did it help? Thanks
Standing Elk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 10:16 PM   #2
CWPASADENA
Senior Member
 
CWPASADENA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PASADENA, CA
Posts: 1,475
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

I have been using one for several years now.

It made a difference in how the horn worked. I would recommend it especially if you have a 6 volt system.

Chris W.
CWPASADENA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-18-2020, 05:16 AM   #3
Werner
Senior Member
 
Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany, near Aachen
Posts: 880
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

Hi Elk,


yes, I have one too. The horn works much more better also in idle. Easy and unvisible to install.
__________________
Beste Gruesse aus Deutschland,
Werner


Ford Model A Roadster, 1928
Citroen 11 CV, 1947
Hercules NSU-Wankel Rotary Engine, 1976 (Canadian version)
Werner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 07:15 AM   #4
KGBnut
Senior Member
 
KGBnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southwestern Connecticut
Posts: 828
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

I have a non-standard, but period correct, horn (the Sparton was stolen long before I bought the car). I couldn't fit the relay inside the cover, so I put it inside the radiator shell. It still worked great and made the horn more reliable.
__________________
Style beats speed any day, and with a lot fewer tickets.
KGBnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 08:40 AM   #5
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 875
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

Quote:
Originally Posted by CWPASADENA View Post
I have been using one for several years now.

It made a difference in how the horn worked. I would recommend it especially if you have a 6 volt system.

Chris W.

Is this similar to what you have?

https://www.brattons.com/horn-relay.html

Do this work for 6 and 12 volts?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 09:06 AM   #6
KGBnut
Senior Member
 
KGBnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southwestern Connecticut
Posts: 828
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shew01 View Post
Is this similar to what you have?

https://www.brattons.com/horn-relay.html

Do this work for 6 and 12 volts?
That is that the one that I have. My system is 6 volt, positive ground, with an original generator.
__________________
Style beats speed any day, and with a lot fewer tickets.
KGBnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 09:16 AM   #7
Standing Elk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: St. Maries, Idaho
Posts: 139
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

Thanks fellas, I believe I will try one.
Standing Elk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 09:48 AM   #8
Badpuppy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Guthrie, OK
Posts: 714
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

Quote:
Originally Posted by shew01 View Post
Is this similar to what you have?

https://www.brattons.com/horn-relay.html

Do this work for 6 and 12 volts?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Much the same as the one I got from Snyder's. 12V needs a 12V relay - the 6V will probably work with short bursts, just won't last as long.

The relay winding requires much less current through the horn button, so it can operate with less-than-perfect contact there.
Badpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 10:02 AM   #9
Will N
Senior Member
 
Will N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 806
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

I can see how this might work, depending on how the relay is wired, when the engine is off or the car is idling. When the engine is running at a speed where the generator is charging, the horn is wired right to the generator cutout and you have plenty of voltage to run the horn. If the wiring of this relay bypasses the generator cutout, terminal box, ammeter and starter switch terminal (which is the path the hot wire for the horn takes to the battery) and goes directly to the battery, with fewer possibly corroded connections that can cause voltage drops, it can be more reliable. But IMHO, this relay is just a band-aid. Bright and tight fellas! Clean those wire connections 'til they are shinning and snug them down, Clean the battery terminals and make sure you have a good ground and your horn will work as intended without adding yet another component that can go wrong.
Will N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 11:47 AM   #10
Afordman31
Senior Member
 
Afordman31's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 527
Default Re: Anyone using a horn relay

Have been using one since the late ninety's with no problems. If i remember right you had to work a bit to get it inside the horn. Yes the Bratton's one is like what I bought from Snyder's years ago.
Afordman31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.