Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2020, 04:18 PM   #1
mgambuzza
Member
 
mgambuzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 32
Default Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

I received my rebuild kit from Snyders (cork gaskets) but I did have a question. Do I need to use gasket cement anywhere on the reassembly, or just the corks by themselves?



I did order another kit originally but they were the neoprene gaskets. I saw a couple forums not recommending neoprene so I ordered a cork set.
mgambuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 04:37 PM   #2
Synchro909
Senior Member
 
Synchro909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 5,294
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

No need for a sealant. In fact using one could make it near impossible to take out again in the future.
__________________
Accidents hurt. Safety doesn't.
Synchro909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-26-2020, 04:49 PM   #3
DBrer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Washington
Posts: 144
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synchro909 View Post
No need for a sealant. In fact using one could make it near impossible to take out again in the future.
I agree, I installed mine with no sealant and no leaks.
DBrer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 05:04 PM   #4
mgambuzza
Member
 
mgambuzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 32
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Question - I just noticed the replacement I received was a cork/neoprene gasket in the kit. Should I proceed with this, or look for a company that makes a "true" cork kit for the gas gauge?
mgambuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 05:23 PM   #5
TMarsh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 28
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

The cork needs sealant on it or a float that will not sink eventually when exposed to gasoline
TMarsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 05:27 PM   #6
Ruth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glide, Oregon
Posts: 658
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
I use the cork/neoprene gaskets from Snyder's with no problems, no sealant needed. Get the brass slip ring also. I don't believe it is included with the gasket set.
__________________
"Sometimes you really DO need to read the whole thread"
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:18 PM   #7
mgambuzza
Member
 
mgambuzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 32
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Thanks all - I'll let you know how I work out. I can see the old cork attached and intact(thankfully). If I pull it up with a coat hanger it drops like a sinker once released. The kit came with the neoprene float.
mgambuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 09:02 PM   #8
mgambuzza
Member
 
mgambuzza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 32
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Success thank you!!
mgambuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 11:07 PM   #9
quickchange
Senior Member
 
quickchange's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nelson. New Zealand
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

use maple syrup on cork gaskets, done dozens , down under use golden syrup,
quickchange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 10:46 AM   #10
gary678*
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Middletown, NY
Posts: 74
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Just do not buy it from Macs; the brass ring did not fit so I had to use the old one. No more Macs for me!
gary678* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 10:51 AM   #11
Jack Shaft
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 788
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Love food based tricks..maple syrup?cool and you can lick your fingers to clean up!!
Jack Shaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 11:41 AM   #12
Mister Moose
Senior Member
 
Mister Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Hartford area, CT
Posts: 108
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Are we talking corn syrup imitation maple syrup, or 100% real deal maple syrup?

Either way, I'm highly skeptical of this idea. The anti seize or sealing aspect, not the finger licking.
Mister Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 08:06 PM   #13
quickchange
Senior Member
 
quickchange's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nelson. New Zealand
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Replacing float and kit for 1930 Gas Gauge

Mr moose ,?? e use golden syrup , as had no maple syrup , both work , petrol (gas) does not dissolve it, been using it some 40 years on the cork seals, never had a leak ,If you are highly skeptical then don,t do it , Some of the good great folk no longer post on here with tried tips as we get pissed off with knockers,
quickchange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 PM.