Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-10-2012, 02:21 PM   #1
matt92vr4

Default New guy to the Barn - 1929 Model A

Hello, my name is Matt. I'm new to the Barn and new to Model A's. Although I'm new, I'm very happy to be here.

Last weekend I was out picking and came across a gem in the distance in an old garage. Upon inspection it was a 1929 Model A truck. It looked to be in good pretty good shape and it had an old For Sale sign on it! $3,300 obo. The very nice old man who owned it said that it had been parked there for years but it ran when it was parked. He said he would let it go for $2,800.

I really have no need for this thing but it was so cool I could not get it out of my head. I told my dad what I found and he said his first car was a Model A back in 1944 and he has wanted to buy another one for years! I did a little research and it seemed that $2,800 was a deal!

So my dad went over and bought it and we towed it back to my house. Attached is a picture of my Dad (he's 82, one year newer than the truck haha) with his new truck!

We towed it home with a chain and my dad was doing all of the braking in the Model A, so that was quite fun. After we arrived safely home our next choir was to get it running. It was converted to 12v so we hooked up a battery and cranked her over. She turned really nice but would not start. We were not getting any spark. After cleaning the points we were able to get spark. A little shot of starting fluid and she fired right up! I had to keep it running manually by spraying gas into the carb but she sounded great! The gas tank is full of rust on the inside and very nasty. We removed it and are in the process of cleaning it (attached pic).