Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-27-2017, 12:03 AM   #1
BillCNC

Default Up Grades?

Hello All,

Well I have been driving my new 31 Tudor and am loving it, ... Although I do admit, the timing advance lever does take a bit of getting used to. I'm now going over the car and I'm making my hit list of things I either need to repair, alter or redo. One good thing, … the list is small so far and with my fingers crossed, it'll stay that way.

I am thinking of a few upgrades and wanted your opinions or experiences. Also since I'm still learning, are there other upgrades I should think about as well? Please keep in mind my main goal is to keep the car as stock looking as possible.

1). Mitchell Overdrive http://mitchelloverdrivemfg.com/prod...l-a-overdrive/
2). Mitchell Synchronized Transmission http://mitchelloverdrivemfg.com/prod...-transmission/
3). Electronic Ignition with the stock look, … Any recommendations?
4). From 6v – 12v, … Any recommendations?

Regards
Bill
BillCNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 01:05 AM   #2
J Franklin

Default Re: Up Grades?

skip #4, defer #2 & #3. Learn to drive the A successfully before those mods or you will never learn the proper way to drive a Model A. You then may decide you like it stock.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2017, 03:53 AM   #3
Charlie Stephens

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillCNC View Post
Hello All,

Well I have been driving my new 31 Tudor and am loving it, ... Although I do admit, the timing advance lever does take a bit of getting used to. I'm now going over the car and I'm making my hit list of things I either need to repair, alter or redo. One good thing, … the list is small so far and with my fingers crossed, it'll stay that way.