Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-09-2024, 04:12 PM   #1
reggiedog

Question Beam from front to back

HI;
Got a question as to what to seal the beam from front to back on both sides of the roof on a Model A there called side pieces, as it's the piece that you nail the roof to and rain gutters to.

On a late 1931 Deluxe Tudor Sedan as I bought new beams for that part of the roof and I don't know what to seal them with, as some people told me to use shellac on them but I was also told to use just Varnish on them.

But I have never done this before so I just thought I would ask what other people have used on there new roof pieces of wood, and as to how many coats you put on it as I live in Wisconsin and I get a lot of moisture up here so I need to seal it good as it's made out of Ash.

Thanks let me know Reggiedog
reggiedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2024, 04:25 PM   #2
J Franklin

Default Re: Beam from front to back

I use linseed oil cut with turpentine. It soaks into the wood.
J Franklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2024, 05:01 PM   #3
reggiedog

What do u do mix it half and half or what and isn't that the stinky stuff as I think my brother used it one time and got bitched at for using that in the house and how much do u put on as to how many coats, and how long does it last as I need something that's going to last years as it's behind fibric of the car so once it's in the car u can't get to it again that's why u have to seal it before u put it in the car.

Reggiedog
Old 03-09-2024, 05:48 PM   #4
J Franklin

50/50 works well, it has odor until it dries out mostly from the solvent. Use boiled oil not raw. It soaks into the wood and hardens to the fibers of the wood. Try some on a piece of scrap and see what you think.
Old 03-09-2024, 06:22 PM   #5
rotorwrench