Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2012, 09:12 PM   #1
Terry Longest
Member
 
Terry Longest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Opelika, AL
Posts: 74
Default Turn signals with hidden switch

Hi, fellas,
Is anyone familiar with the turn signal with the hidden switch sold by Bratton's? I like the idea of a hidden switch (not on the shifter or on the column). I would like to know if anyone had problems installing or with reliability of this item. Thanks in advance
Terry Longest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:25 PM   #2
mrtexas
Senior Member
 
mrtexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 4,288
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I've got the one made by Ron Meister 513 941 0335. It is a small black box and the switch is a small toggle connected to the box by a phone line. I mounted my switch on the shifter but you could put it anywhere you wanted. Mine works great and includes a buzzer so you don't forget.
mrtexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-15-2012, 09:41 PM   #3
jw hash
Senior Member
 
jw hash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auburn Washington
Posts: 2,312
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I`m installing the second one right now in a 31 roadster and mounting the switch on one of the bolts for the gas tank under the dash rail they work very well,one of the nices thing is to buy the wire loom with the turn signal wires already in them it makes for a clean job when finished. I think they all are made by Ron Meister,
jw hash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:09 PM   #4
Dick Deegan
Senior Member
 
Dick Deegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wooler ON
Posts: 527
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I have had the Bratton's hidden turn switch system for several years now and have had no problems with it other than the fact that I had to replace the flasher. Also, I found the buzzer very loud and solved that problem by putting a piece of electrical tape part way across it. A good reliable system. Also has a four way flasher.

Dick
Dick Deegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 11:23 PM   #5
mrtexas
Senior Member
 
mrtexas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 4,288
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by jw hash View Post
one of the nices thing is to buy the wire loom with the turn signal wires already in them it makes for a clean job when finished. I think they all are made by Ron Meister,
I did that too.
mrtexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 11:44 PM   #6
columbiA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 1,746
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
For a hidden TS switch,I used DT-SP switch from TheSource in Canada or Radio Shack in USA. Nexxtech#2751533.Mount it behind the dash rail with 2 fender washers thru one of the slots.It will be out of sight.By adding a push-pull switch to TS switch,you can have 4-way flashers when you activate TS switch.
columbiA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:06 AM   #7
bogiediver
Senior Member
 
bogiediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 277
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

A bit pricey - but check out http://www.turnswitch.com/

I got their unit with the column mounted switch, but they offer a toggle switch that could be mounted almost anywhere.

Several other features including 4-way operation; auto cancel; duplexing lights to be brake and turn; a low volume 'clicker'; electronic (no mechanical flasher); 6 volt or 12 volt, pos or neg ground; more...

I have no affiliation with the company, just like the product.
__________________
- bogie

www.mchenrycountyroadpirates.org
bogiediver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:57 PM   #8
Terry Longest
Member
 
Terry Longest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Opelika, AL
Posts: 74
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I appreciate the information and comments.
Terry
Terry Longest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 06:11 PM   #9
msmaron
Senior Member
 
msmaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 3,529
Send a message via AIM to msmaron
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by bogiediver View Post
A bit pricey - but check out http://www.turnswitch.com/

I got their unit with the column mounted switch, but they offer a toggle switch that could be mounted almost anywhere.
.
Without a doubt the best ever, easy to install, independent which makes it great, auto shut off after 15 sec. Brake pedal stops shut off, allows tail lights, cowl lights, and separate lights also,.Here is a pic of a switch that we made that goes behind the rail, it has 2 led lights and lights for each signal and both are on when the flasher is working, VERY VERY Handy when driving at night. Its a small plate connected to the "Brain Box" of the unit which is behind the kick panel.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg switch.jpg (64.9 KB, 417 views)
__________________
Mark Maron
Ill., Region MARC & MAFCA
27A's, MARC JSC Member
2021 Oshkosh National Meet Chief Judge
National Facebook Admin.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/MARC.group/

A7191-Sport Coupe
29 Roadster
29-Town Sedan

Last edited by msmaron; 01-17-2012 at 06:12 PM. Reason: Added Pic
msmaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 12:51 PM   #10
Car Pit
Member
 
Car Pit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 63
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Hey guys. I read this string a while back and bought the electronic signal kit from Turnswitch.com. I like the unit overall, but I have had trouble with it working consistently when the car is on the go. Works fantastic sitting in the driveway. I was told by the vendor that the issue was likely electrical noise and that I needed to add a capacitor at the alternator, but this didn't resolve my issue. Have any of you had trouble with the electronic units and found an add on solution that works?
Car Pit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 01:32 PM   #11
bogiediver
Senior Member
 
bogiediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 277
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

The only issue I have experienced is on the really bad roads around our area, the left turn signal will turn itself on...

Hit a bad bump - the knob on the end of the lever has enough momentum to bounce down far enough to turn the signal on...

Otherwise - they have worked great for me. Using the cowl lamps for the front turn signals (duplexed thru the unit so still can be used as cowl lights); added a pair of 6V Pos. Gnd LEDs to the rear bumper that are shaped like '39 upside-down teardrops.

I'm on a generator, not alternator...

FWIW
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2013-12-04_123052.jpg (71.7 KB, 33 views)
__________________
- bogie

www.mchenrycountyroadpirates.org
bogiediver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:08 PM   #12
28ACoupe
Senior Member
 
28ACoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 555
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I am contemplating building a very low profile set of turn signals for my coupe. Obviously the car didn't have them from the factory but I plan on driving it daily so safety is a good idea.

My plan is to make use of the 6v system and solid state components for the flashing system and use LED's for the actual lights as they are very small and very bright.

I will keep you all posted on the progress of this when I get to it. I suspect the whole project will cost something around $20 to $50 in parts.
__________________
1928 Model A Business Coupe
Rebuild picture gallery here
The light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off due to budget cuts.
28ACoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:47 PM   #13
Timberbeast
Member
 
Timberbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fenton, Missouri
Posts: 45
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Car Pit View Post
Hey guys. I read this string a while back and bought the electronic signal kit from Turnswitch.com. I like the unit overall, but I have had trouble with it working consistently when the car is on the go. Works fantastic sitting in the driveway. I was told by the vendor that the issue was likely electrical noise and that I needed to add a capacitor at the alternator, but this didn't resolve my issue. Have any of you had trouble with the electronic units and found an add on solution that works?
I would check the ground connections before doing any modification or add-on. On a rough road there could be a ground connection that is intermitant.
Good luck, hope you find the problem.
__________________
Semper Fi
Jerry
Timberbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 04:53 PM   #14
30 A Ripper
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lakeland Florida
Posts: 68
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

did you use a thermal fasher or some kind of LED flasher? I've heard there are problems mixing filament type lights with led type and trying to get my plan together.

currently thinking led front yellow bumper mounted & regular filament bulbs on taillites. I also have a thermal flasher ready.

Thanks, Dick
30 A Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:37 PM   #15
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,715
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I have regular filament bulbs in the front and LED's in the back. No problem with a standard flasher.
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 05:54 PM   #16
Keith True
Senior Member
 
Keith True's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Epping N.H.
Posts: 2,456
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I use a plain old turn signal switch that I mounted up over the kick panel.The switch is mounted sideways,I lift up on the lever for right,and push it down for left.Easy to reach,and it really can't be seen.It is mounted the cowl fore/aft brace,with just one bolt.I thought it would pivot with use,but it has not moved in six years.It is not in the way of anything,even the knees.I tried to show somebody how it worked today,but I had robbed the flasher for another car.I use cowl lights in the front,and a 70 year old lamp with right and left arrows for the rear.That fancy old arrow lamp is useless in the daylight,but shows up good at night.
Keith True is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:04 AM   #17
John LaVoy
Senior Member
 
John LaVoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I have the Bratton's hidden switch on my sedan and it has worked great!
John LaVoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 08:51 AM   #18
NonnoJohn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

The bratton's hidden switch works great. I did not like the cheap switch component and replaced it with a heavy duty switch from Radio Shack, about $4. Initially, I had it running with third brake led light (serves as directional also) and 2 front bumper filament-type lights. Also, the buzzer would go off each time I hit the brakes (turn signals worked fine). Added two signal diodes to circuit so brake lights would not activate buzzer.

Now converting the 2 front bumper lights to led's (they are very nice) --- having some problems with the heavy duty flasher not working properly ...may go digital here.
NonnoJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:00 AM   #19
rons49
Senior Member
 
rons49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 136
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

With the Bratton unit and using the rear taillight for signals... I presume that the bulb socket must be changed to a dual filament. Which bulb is commonly used for turn signals, running light or stop light? Since I just installed the twolight reflector pans I would like to use those as my "parking lights" and the cowl lights as my dedicated turn signals. Cowl lights came with a 31 Tudor Deluxe, and therefore only one bulb( 32cp headlight) as the headlight assembly. This way no wires show by the bumper braces. Any ideas? Will the headlight lumens block out the visibility of the cowl light signal to oncoming vehicles? Ron
rons49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:18 AM   #20
TerryH
Senior Member
 
TerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fountain Valley, Calif.
Posts: 820
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I have had one for almost 8 years, and it works great.....no problems at all! I had mine mounted under the dash rail, on the far left side.....barely visible and easily accessible, would highly recommend it!
TerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:39 AM   #21
Mike V. Florida
Senior Member
 
Mike V. Florida's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 14,052
Send a message via AIM to Mike V. Florida
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by NonnoJohn View Post
The bratton's hidden switch works great. I did not like the cheap switch component and replaced it with a heavy duty switch from Radio Shack, about $4. Initially, I had it running with third brake led light (serves as directional also) and 2 front bumper filament-type lights. Also, the buzzer would go off each time I hit the brakes (turn signals worked fine). Added two signal diodes to circuit so brake lights would not activate buzzer.

Now converting the 2 front bumper lights to led's (they are very nice) --- having some problems with the heavy duty flasher not working properly ...may go digital here.

You need one made for low current draw. look up LED Bulb Electronic Flasher.
__________________
What's right about America is that although we have a mess of problems, we have great capacity - intellect and resources - to do some thing about them. - Henry Ford II
Mike V. Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 11:44 AM   #22
Mike
Senior Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ASTON, PA.
Posts: 721
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I just finished installing the Bratton's set up on my 1928 speedster! Nice install and I modify the bracket so I can use it on any type of Model A Ford

Mike
IMG_1461.jpg

IMG_1462.jpg

IMG_1463.jpg

IMG_1460.jpg
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 09-01-2014, 12:03 PM   #23
BRENT in 10-uh-C
Senior Member
 
BRENT in 10-uh-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern Tennessee
Posts: 9,844
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtexas View Post
I've got the one made by Ron Meister 513 941 0335. It is a small black box and the switch is a small toggle connected to the box by a phone line. I mounted my switch on the shifter but you could put it anywhere you wanted. Mine works great and includes a buzzer so you don't forget.
FWIW (as I know this information was written several years ago) but BJ & Casey Miller bought the rights to this turn signal kit several years ago (2009 +/- ) and have been supplying them to many of the vendors ever since. The kits are good quality as are BJ & Casey. For those familiar with Ron's Machine Shop in Shandon, Ohio, will recognize BJ as Ron's son.

http://ronsmachineshop.net/Hidden_Turn_Signal_Kits.html
__________________
.

BRENT in 10-uh-C
.
www.model-a-ford.com
...(...Finally Updated!! )

.
BRENT in 10-uh-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 12:25 PM   #24
700rpm
Senior Member
 
700rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,479
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

I am very happy with my Smart Signals.

http://smartsignals.com

Completely made in the USA. Easy to install for driving. Easy to remove for show.

I am not affiliated with Smart Signals in any way, just a happy customer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg smartsignals.jpg (62.1 KB, 41 views)
__________________
Ray Horton, Portland, OR


As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 03:15 PM   #25
Mike
Senior Member
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ASTON, PA.
Posts: 721
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

700 rpm,
can we get a pic of the rear lights ?
mike
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 03:57 PM   #26
700rpm
Senior Member
 
700rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,479
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
700 rpm,
can we get a pic of the rear lights ?
mike
Here is how I use them on my coupe and Tudor. They are wireless and magnetic. I just take them off one car and put them on another. On the truck I attach them to the tailgate. The magnets are very strong and the lights stay attached even on rough roads.

I've got one set, and I just move them from car to car.

The company is way backordered right now. Call them to get a delivery date.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg coupe. light.jpg (43.9 KB, 47 views)
__________________
Ray Horton, Portland, OR


As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.

Last edited by 700rpm; 09-01-2014 at 05:56 PM.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 04:25 PM   #27
nickair
Senior Member
 
nickair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Oregon
Posts: 132
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

This one looks great if you are upgrading to LED taillight lenses or bulbs.
No need to add any additional rear turn signal lights as you can use your standard rear duolamp housings with LED lights inserted as standard tail, stop and turn, (great brightness for daytime driving.) LEDs use much less current. (good for 6 volt systems) http://www.logolites.com/
__________________


Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
L.D.

I have 40 horses in the garage.
Only feed them when I want to take them out.

31 Model A Tudor 55B

Nick
nickair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 01:02 PM   #28
NonnoJohn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Mike you are right...led electronic flasher is needed. thanks for there tip --- I will look around for one.

Using the standard heavy duty flasher --- only the hazard flashers work (front and back/3rd brake light). Directionals only -- do NOT get enough voltage --- only around 2.5 volts. and do NOT work. BTW -- the standard heavy duty flashers are very unpredictable --- checked the ohm reading of L to X terminal -- should be zero when cold and instead was over 8 ohms. these units are real junk.
NonnoJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:38 PM   #29
rons49
Senior Member
 
rons49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tucson
Posts: 136
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by 700rpm View Post
I am very happy with my Smart Signals.

http://smartsignals.com

Completely made in the USA. Easy to install for driving. Easy to remove for show.

I am not affiliated with Smart Signals in any way, just a happy customer.
When did you receive delivery?
rons49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 10:40 PM   #30
700rpm
Senior Member
 
700rpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,479
Default Re: Turn signals with hidden switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by rons49 View Post
When did you receive delivery?
Got mine about Feb 2014. I had about an 80 day wait. Worth it in the long run, for me.
__________________
Ray Horton, Portland, OR


As you go through life, keep your eye on the donut, not the hole.
700rpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.