Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2020, 05:05 PM   #101
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,611
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by derek costello View Post
What is a hogshead? and did you make your own plate? That adaptor was expensive at $400.....

The brown piece is a hogshead. Below that is a hogshead with adapter plate like JSeery spoke of adapting a T5Z to a flathead. DD






xxxxxxx
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


One day, a garbage disposal will eat her!
V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 06:48 PM   #102
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,610
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mart View Post
Hogshead is the name given to the removable bellhousing on the heavy duty truck transmissions. (Can't remember the years). They make useful adaptors.

Mart.
Yes, and I made my own adapter.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 01-12-2020, 06:50 PM   #103
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,610
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8COOPMAN View Post
The brown piece is a hogshead. Below that is a hogshead with adapter plate like JSeery spoke of adapting a T5Z to a flathead. DD






xxxxxxx
LOL, that's my block and adapter! That is an early photo of the plate during mockup and with a junk later model chevy T5.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 06:58 PM   #104
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,610
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

I have several hogsheads so there are different ones in different photos. Here are some photos of the adaptor plate. I have it setup so the front bearing retainer of the T5(z) slides inside the original Ford transmission front retainer. That way the Ford retainer lines up with the hogshead and also centers the T5(z) retainer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Transmission Adapter Plate.jpg (59.2 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg Transmission Homemade Ford T5Z mount 2.jpg (142.4 KB, 64 views)
File Type: jpg Transmission Adapter 2.jpg (50.4 KB, 61 views)
File Type: jpg Transmission Adapter.jpg (63.3 KB, 62 views)
File Type: jpg Retainers.jpg (56.5 KB, 63 views)
File Type: jpg Retainers Stacked 2.jpg (46.0 KB, 59 views)
File Type: jpg Retainers stacked.jpg (40.0 KB, 58 views)

Last edited by JSeery; 01-12-2020 at 07:05 PM.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 07:15 PM   #105
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,610
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

If anyone is interested the "hogshead" name comes from the shape of the rear surface of the bellhousing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Hogshead with early ford retainer.jpg (75.0 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg Hogshead.jpg (70.4 KB, 54 views)
File Type: jpg Inside of Hogshead.jpg (106.5 KB, 57 views)
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 09:29 PM   #106
tubman
Senior Member
 
tubman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minnesota, Florida Keys
Posts: 7,144
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Gentlemen - This is a thread about T-5's and torque-tubes. If you want to discuss generic T-5 info, I suggest you start another thread. I believe that this subject is important enough to be kept "clean".
tubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 10:58 PM   #107
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,610
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

It's v8coopmans thread! LOL. He did an outstanding job on his conversion and it has recieved less recognition than it deserves IMO. Keeping the thread current is a plus, also IMO.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 03:38 PM   #108
hook00pad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 105
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Yes. Great thread!

Al Hook
hook00pad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2020, 07:34 PM   #109
hotrodder3031
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

so what is the update with this project?
hotrodder3031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2020, 08:35 PM   #110
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,611
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrodder3031 View Post
so what is the update with this project?

This particular project in Heard's '35 pick-up is just now receiving a brand new, fresh 8BA flathead, along with other finishing details wrapping-up a total re-do on an original, stock pick-up. If you're looking for an actual, running, operating and proven Jeep T5 W/Torque Tube project like this one, look no farther than Cory Taulbert's '32 5-window project fairly well detailed in the link below, Post #76. Forget the fact that Cory's powerplant is a little Chevy, as it could just as easily have been a flathead....note Cory's use of the same adapter that Heard used. Cory took his car on a 3,000 plus mile shakedown cruise with nothing but high marks for the performance he achieved. Last I heard, he had well over 6K miles on the Jeep/torque tube combo. Click the link, post #76! DD


https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...=206955&page=4
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


One day, a garbage disposal will eat her!
V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 06:56 AM   #111
IndianapolisRacer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Olney , Illinois
Posts: 192
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

This is exactly what I was hoping to find , thankyou !!!!
IndianapolisRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 08:50 PM   #112
1oldtimer
Senior Member
 
1oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Orange County, Ca.
Posts: 621
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Can an S10 4x4 work as well as a Jeep?.
1oldtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 09:06 PM   #113
Ol' Ron
Senior Member
 
Ol' Ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chester Vt
Posts: 7,815
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

This is a similar method I used to install the T-5 in the roadster, The reason was the ability to go from early 59 blocks to 8BA style blocks and the hogs head makes this an easy to do this as the cluch linkeg and other parts remain the same, Also I use the Ford 8BA style water pumps with narrow belts and common pulleys so I only have to run one belt and an 8BA style distribtor on both engines. My biggest problen is te lack of money, so we do allot of scronging , I;ve just loooked at the cost of speed equipment like intakes and heads. I have a rare set id 49 Offy heads with the angled thermostat housongs. I even have the special housings. Maby I couls trad them for a new truck
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 11:06 PM   #114
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,610
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1oldtimer View Post
Can an S10 4x4 work as well as a Jeep?.
There is a lot of information on this topic on the HAMB. Believe the major difference is the S10 4x4 is a longer case than the jeep case.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 01:30 AM   #115
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,611
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1oldtimer View Post
Can an S10 4x4 work as well as a Jeep?.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
There is a lot of information on this topic on the HAMB. Believe the major difference is the S10 4x4 is a longer case than the jeep case.

We don't need no charming H.A.M.B. for this info. We've got it covered right here....INFO and PICS!


1oldtimer …..If you're not familiar with the project that fellow 'Barner Heard and myself did to marry a T5 to a Ford torque tube some time back, click on this link below for the comprehensive thread on how we developed and accomplished such an adaptation.


https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...T5+TORQUE+TUBE


To answer your question about using the S-10 4X4 rear housing and main shaft instead of the Jeep counterparts.....the S-10 takes-up a whole lot more real estate. I'll try, using pictures below, to illustrate some of the important details to consider IF using the LONGER S-10 set-up.


ALL T5 main cases are 9-1/4" long, measured between front and rear faces. Using the JEEP rear housing allows you to assemble the absolute shortest length T5 possible using ALL Borg-Warner factory parts. In fact, we believe that this concoction we've come-up with is actually a transmission that Borg-Warner never intended to be. Most-importantly, every inch of "short" that you can gain in an old Ford chassis is almost priceless when it comes to that transmission/X-member area. The JEEP extension housing is exactly 6" from it's front to it's rear face. I've measured the S-10 extension housings, and the exact measurement escapes me, but going by the pictures below, it seems like it's about 10-1/2" front to rear. The S-10 housing is LONGER than the T5 MAIN case itself.


The first picture below shows a mock-up of our T5 with Jeep rear extension housing sitting behind an 8BA Ford flathead in a 1935 Ford chassis. Note how wide the rear flange is on the rear side of the housing, and how relatively little of the Ford "X" member lip needed to be trimmed to fit. Now try to picture the S-10 housing at 4-1/2" FARTHER back in the chassis (at about the 3-3/4" mark on tape), and how little of the "X" frame flanging would be left in tact. In addition, the majority of the Ford's structural center box section would have to be gutted for fitting. Not only would this compromise strength and integrity, but it would make mounting the stock Ford front WISHBONE ball very difficult, at best. The Jeep parts (only the '82-'86 CJ extension housing, the accompanying main shaft, plus the SMALLER Jeep 23-spline, 26-tooth O/D gear) are a little difficult to round-up, but they're out there. ALL of these parts combine with and bolt to a commonly-found '83-'87 Camaro NWC T5 (or any T5 case) like we used, which has that sweet, close ratio 2.95 1st gear set. You couldn't MAKE me use the S-10 parts, although they MAY be a little easier to round-up. Any questions.....please ask away! DD


Short (6" long) Jeep housing on rear of Camaro T5 transmission gear case. The 6" case stops at the 8-1/4" mark on the tape. The rest is aluminum adapter and '36 Ford torque-tube-bell clam shell adapter.





T5 main case with S-10 housing below....rear housing (left side) is longer than the T5 main case.





S-10 Bare Housing.





OUR Little Short JEEP T5 Complete





And With Torque Tube and U-Joint Hook-Up





Finally, the Little Short 6" JEEP Bare Extension Housing.




In this Last Picture, you can see how much of the Center Box Section we were able to retain, allowing easy and substantial Wishbone retention. The S-10 Rear Housing would have made most of what you see MUCH more involved.




Don't forget to click the link toward the beginning of this post to see our complete project with many more pictures. OR, just click on the " T5 W/TORQUE TUBE " below, left! DD
………..
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


One day, a garbage disposal will eat her!

Last edited by V8COOPMAN; 06-07-2020 at 09:59 AM.
V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 03:58 AM   #116
1oldtimer
Senior Member
 
1oldtimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Orange County, Ca.
Posts: 621
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Gotcha, now that I see them together the S10 might as well be a full size T5. It might be ok in a hot rod application with a very open center section.
1oldtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:37 PM   #117
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 15,610
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

V8coopman, the HAMB reference was to using the S10 4X4 unit if you had a mind to. I wouldn't and didn't thing you would because of the increased modification required to the frame etc. BUT, if you wanted to go that way, there are several threads on the HAMB covering it.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 01:59 PM   #118
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,611
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post
V8coopman, the HAMB reference was to using the S10 4X4 unit if you had a mind to. I wouldn't and didn't thing you would because of the increased modification required to the frame etc. BUT, if you wanted to go that way, there are several threads on the HAMB covering it.

As usual, JSeery is absolutely correct! DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


One day, a garbage disposal will eat her!
V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 03:41 PM   #119
aandkt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: LI NY
Posts: 117
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

What Speedo cable did you use to connect the T5 to the Ford Speedometer. Do you know the tread size on each end of the speedo cable?
aandkt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 05:15 PM   #120
V8COOPMAN
Senior Member
 
V8COOPMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Shore of LAKE HOUSTON
Posts: 7,611
Default Re: FINALLY…T5 WITH Torque Tube in a ‘35-’40 Ford...The WHOLE STORY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aandkt View Post
What Speedo cable did you use to connect the T5 to the Ford Speedometer. Do you know the tread size on each end of the speedo cable?
Our '35 speedometer cable threaded right up 'as-is' on both ends. Most folks find this to be the case. There was another thread about this very subject within the past week or two here on the 'Barn.

Do you have a project about ready to go? If so, any details, feedback, or pictures? DD
__________________
T5 W/TORQUE TUBE


One day, a garbage disposal will eat her!
V8COOPMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.