Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2020, 06:15 PM   #1
Robert/Texas
Senior Member
 
Robert/Texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burton, Texas
Posts: 448
Default Light Switch Problem

I bought a “Made in USA” light switch body and a “Made in ???” lighting harness from one of the vendors and tried to install them in my ’28 roadster today. After assembling them together I found that the switch mechanism was jammed.

I'm hoping that someone can help me with this problem.

Thanks in advance, Robert
Robert/Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 07:26 PM   #2
DNLs1930
Senior Member
 
DNLs1930's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Fort Worth side of DFW
Posts: 144
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert/Texas View Post
I bought a “Made in USA” light switch body and a “Made in ???” lighting harness from one of the vendors and tried to install them in my ’28 roadster today. After assembling them together I found that the switch mechanism was jammed.

I'm hoping that someone can help me with this problem.

Thanks in advance, Robert

Hey Robert,
Are you talking about the switch on the steering wheel being jammed?
If so take the wire harness and switch housing off the steering wheel, make sure the inside wire contact plate is lined up inside the housing (there is an alignment "key and slot") then make sure the horn/light switch "tabs" at the end of the steering wheel are positioned vertical or on Top and bottom not side to side.



Put the switch housing back the steering box (there is an alignment key and slot) and hopefully you can get it all aligned.



I just had this issue yesterday and had to take it all apart a few times to get it just right. Good Luck!!
DNLs1930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-31-2020, 07:42 PM   #3
ryanheacox
Senior Member
 
ryanheacox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northwest CT
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

https://www.brattons.com/wire-harnes...al-6-volt.html


Check out the main picture in that link. Two issues with the Bakelite disk, combined they would probably jam your light switch up tight.
ryanheacox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 09:00 PM   #4
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,879
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Getting the spider gear and switch to align can be tricky, spider gear set at 12/6 o'clock, switch has to be set like wise, light lever should be at 6 o'clock.
Sometimes takes a few tries to get it just right.
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 09:01 PM   #5
burner31
Senior Member
 
burner31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shawnee, Ok
Posts: 2,879
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Side question...anyone lube their switches?
__________________
Keith
Shawnee OK
'31 SW 160-B
burner31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 06:13 AM   #6
DBSHELTON
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Kountze,TX
Posts: 266
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Quote:
Originally Posted by burner31 View Post
Side question...anyone lube their switches?

I usually smear a very light coat of silicone grease on the contacts. Don't know if it helps any but makes me feel better.
DBSHELTON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 06:15 AM   #7
Robert/Texas
Senior Member
 
Robert/Texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burton, Texas
Posts: 448
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Many thanks to all of you.

I think that Ryan hit the nail on the head. It was so hard to get the switch body together that I almost gave up. I finally got the two pins to mate and turn in their slots but then found that the switch innards would not move. I hope that I can get this all apart so I can fix them without destroying anything. That will be my project for today.

Thanks again, Robert
Robert/Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2020, 08:53 AM   #8
rocket1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland Park,N.J.
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

They make a grease for electrical contacts(diaelectric grease)good for bulb bases also.
rocket1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 02:14 PM   #9
Robert/Texas
Senior Member
 
Robert/Texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burton, Texas
Posts: 448
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Thanks again. I followed the Bratton's instructions and smeared a little dielectric grease on the contacts and now the switch operates smoothly.

Robert
Robert/Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 03:40 PM   #10
wensum
Senior Member
 
wensum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 434
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

I found that the indents were too deep and had to partially fill them with an epoxy filler, smoothed out before the light switch would work.
wensum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 04:06 PM   #11
Ruth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glide, Oregon
Posts: 647
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by burner31 View Post
Side question...anyone lube their switches?
I smear on a little di-electric grease. I use di-electric grease on all of my electrcal connections to help prevent corrosion.
__________________
"Sometimes you really DO need to read the whole thread"
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 09:11 AM   #12
Tinbasher
Senior Member
 
Tinbasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Innisfil, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,021
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

I went though the same thing. I had bought one switch assembly and it was poorly made. Then I bought a second one from Bratton's. Much better, plus it came with a instruction sheet on what to do to mate it up to the spider at the bottom of the steering column and making the bake light part fit inside the metal housing. One of those little jobs that take time to get it to fit right. Now mine work well. JP
Tinbasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 05:56 PM   #13
Robert/Texas
Senior Member
 
Robert/Texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burton, Texas
Posts: 448
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

Thanks all.

I finally got the time to continue the harness installation. I didn't get far when I discovered that the taillight wires are about 2 feet too short. I thought about splicing about 2 feet into these wires but in addition to this the switch has a scraping feel and no indent feel for the parking, low beams, and high beams. Instead of splicing the old harness, I think I’m going to start over with a Bratton's supplied harness as suggested.

Thanks again, Robert
Robert/Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 09:57 AM   #14
Robert/Texas
Senior Member
 
Robert/Texas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burton, Texas
Posts: 448
Default Re: Light Switch Problem

I keep on learning. Browsing the Bratton’s catalog I see that they have a 25 inch taillight wire extension for drum taillights. I’ve been exercising the switch and it seems to be freeing up so I’m hopefully going to save some money.

Thanks again, Robert
Robert/Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.