Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2017, 10:12 AM   #21
SeaSlugs
Senior Member
 
SeaSlugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Central, IL
Posts: 3,920
Default Re: Stop light and tail light problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by katy View Post
That's like I don't understand all the newer cars w/their complicated "multi-function" stalks on the steering column, rather than individual switches.
I was told it's "European" styling, big deal, I prefer the older "North American" styling, less complicated, even a dummy like me can find which switch to turn on.
agreed, GM at least in the trucks doesnt like change - hasnt really changed alot in them for 50+ years...

i hate those cars with the wiper control on the right side that looks like a gear shift should be there.
__________________
1929 Model AA - Need long splash aprons!
SeaSlugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 06:20 AM   #22
Johns30
Member
 
Johns30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 31
Default Re: Stop light and tail light problem

Bringing this old thread back to life just for an UPDATE on my problem in case anyone in the future uses this thread in a search:

I had already fixed the bad ground last summer but since then have just kept my lights on while driving so that my brake lights would also work. (The problem was my brake lights wouldn't work unless headlights were also turned on.)

I finally got around to taking my light switch housing apart to see what the wiring looks like. I found that the wire for the brake lights was 1)really loose almost falling off the terminal and 2) I believe it was actually connected to the wrong terminal. I crimped it a bit and put it securely on the correct terminal per diagram and now everything seems to work as it should.

It sure is a nice feeling to get something figured out/ fixed (even if it takes almost a year LOL but that's the way it goes sometimes with job and kids and house and, and, and...)
Johns30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 05-25-2017, 09:21 AM   #23
wmws
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coatesville, Pa
Posts: 719
Default Re: Stop light and tail light problem

Congratulations. Yes it is a great feeling when you get it figured out. And even more so when you are busily with life and only have limited time to work on the car.
wmws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 10:52 AM   #24
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Stop light and tail light problem

Yep, glad you found it. With these simple old cars its usually something pretty simple.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 11:47 AM   #25
FRANK PKNY
Senior Member
 
FRANK PKNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE NY 12601
Posts: 962
Default Re: Stop light and tail light problem

You need to start here,
1 you should have power to the tail light switch all the time, if not the problem can be isolated prior to the switch, if yes, go to the tail light on the drivers side and unplug the connectors up under the rear where the junctions are. Mark them so when you go back together you get them correct. Take a long wire jumper and go from the negative pole on the battery to one of the pig tails on the light connect it, Assuming you have a positive ground). You should get one of the two bulbs in that light to fire up. Then do the same on the second pigtail, you should get that one to fire up. If not try making a temporary ground wire go from one of the screws that hold the bezzle on wrap a wire on the screw and go to the frame with an alligator clip to the frame wiggle it around so you get a good connection. If then the light comes on when you have your jumper wire to the battery on one of the pigtails your problem is the ground. Do the same on the other side. by doing it this way you can isolate the problem. I have found that the connectors sometimes get corroded they plug into a female on all the wires there is a male end on the wire and a female connector, I clean them up well or replace the female end (I keep a stock of them) and clean the male end then that gives you a better connection. I put dielectric grease on all the plugs female inside them that keeps from getting water into them and causing corrosion. Hope I made this easy enough. It's just common sense. Report back so we can know if we helped you! Frank PKNY
__________________
FRANK PKNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.