Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-02-2019, 04:36 PM   #1
Borninthefifties

Default Flywheel housing

Aloha all, I'm new to the "A" world. Just acquired mine in August of 18 from E-Bay. Seller wasn't totally honest and I've been having some issues and trying to work through them. What I need is a source of information with step by step directions to replace the flywheel housing on my 1931 coupe. It's badly cracked around the starter. Bought a new one from Snyders.

Thanks for any help
Borninthefifties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 04:44 PM   #2
Bob C

Default Re: Flywheel housing

Do you have this book? https://modelastore.com/books/techni...roduct_id=6046

Bob
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6046-600x800.jpg (45.8 KB, 14 views)
Bob C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 04:56 PM   #3
Patrick L.

Yep, that manual sure helps. I'm one that prefers to remove the rear end and transmission. I also prefer to leave the spring attached [ that spring can be dangerous if not handled correctly].
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 05:32 PM   #4
Borninthefifties

Thank you both
Old 02-02-2019, 06:24 PM   #5
kenparker

If the rear end and the transmission are removed - the engine is still attached to the Flywheel housing which is attached to the motor mounts which are attached to the frame. Also to get the housing off the flywheel will have to b e removed - a 65 lb toe crusher.

In this case I wouldd prefer to remove the engine for easy access to the flywheel and then the housing. LessAndreews book is an emense help in this case.
kenparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 11:07 AM   #6
Borninthefifties