Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 04:44 PM   #1
MARKA
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 31
Default Fuse .where to mount

I was wondering if there is a reason why the instructions on Model A parts vendor supplied fuse holders say to connect it to the wiring loom after the starter motor connection.

This provides no protection for the starter motor.

Would it not make more sense to connect it in line with the cable coming directly from the battery. And then the other end of the fuse to the terminal on the starter.

This would provide protection to the starter motor as well.

Any thoughts,

Regards

Mark.
MARKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:58 PM   #2
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 27,582
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

Can't do it, as the starter draws 100 amps or more.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-23-2011, 05:06 PM   #3
MARKA
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 31
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

Thanks Tom,
I really appreciate your reply.
Saved a fuse and aggravation.
I did not realise that the starter would draw 100Amps.

You learn something every day.

Regards Mark.
MARKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 05:23 PM   #4
2manycars
Senior Member
 
2manycars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern CT
Posts: 2,732
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

If you compare the size of the wire going to the starter with the size of the wire the fuse holder comes with, that should tell you something. The fuse is only to protect the small wires from a short to ground, which would cause them to overheat and perhaps cause a fire.
2manycars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:04 PM   #5
Fred K-OR
Senior Member
 
Fred K-OR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stayton, Oregon
Posts: 3,793
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

You may also want to put a cut off switch in your system to turn off everthing.
__________________
Fred Kroon
1929 Std Coupe
1929 Huckster
Fred K-OR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:35 PM   #6
rdscouple
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 69
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
On my show cars I run the yellow wire back through the terminal box and hook up an inline fuse holder. Then back to the terminal box and the correct terminal. That way I don't have to see a fuse hanging out the side of my starter motor. Original Model As didn't have fuses.
rdscouple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:07 AM   #7
BrianBurkert
Senior Member
 
BrianBurkert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fleetwood, PA
Posts: 410
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

I had a fuse at the starter location. One night I had a short in my headlight. The fuse blew and disconnected the battery from the rest of the system. The generator set up its own circuit and kept the car running and the lights burning. Since the battery was disconnected, it no longer regulated the system to 6 volts. The generator is capable of much greater voltage. The voltage shot up, burned off the wire to the headlight, and toasted every bulb and component in the car (including the points and the generator itself). I saw the ammeter spike and the lights flicker, but till I pulled over and shut the car down, the damage had been done.

It was a rainy, miserable night and in 38,000 miles it was the only time my car was ever towed. If it were daylight, I could have gotten home by changing the points.

I don't run any fuse at all now. I think it is a better idea to have a manual battery disconnect for emergencies or when the car is stored. Or, you can also install a fuse between the generator and the light circuit (where most shorts happen, anyway).
BrianBurkert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:49 AM   #8
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,846
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianBurkert View Post
I had a fuse at the starter location. One night I had a short in my headlight. The fuse blew and disconnected the battery from the rest of the system. The generator set up its own circuit and kept the car running and the lights burning. Since the battery was disconnected, it no longer regulated the system to 6 volts. The generator is capable of much greater voltage. The voltage shot up, burned off the wire to the headlight, and toasted every bulb and component in the car (including the points and the generator itself). I saw the ammeter spike and the lights flicker, but till I pulled over and shut the car down, the damage had been done...
I had the exact same thing happen to me. Fortunately I was within walking distance of home. Got my wife to go back with me and tow it home. Further inspection also revealed that everything that could blow was blown!
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:13 PM   #9
Bill Goddard
Senior Member
 
Bill Goddard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shrewsbury,Pa
Posts: 511
Default Re: Fuse .where to mount

I think Brian has the right idea. Most problems I've heard about are headlight related. The headlights contacts seem to have the most marginal designs of any electrical contact on the car. I think if we restore all wiring electrical contacts in the car, fuse the headlights, and install a battery disconnect we will have the best of it.
Bill Goddard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.