Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-01-2023, 06:34 PM   #1
glrose67

Default Model A camshaft

Howdy, I've been given this camshaft - it's been ground to the specs in the pic. I'm not an expert in these so my question is - is this a standard cam or something else. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Unknown.jpg (44.3 KB, 187 views)
glrose67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2023, 07:26 PM   #2
Synchro909

Default Re: Model A camshaft

Why not ring Clive Cams and ask what grind number 566 is?
Old 11-01-2023, 09:05 PM   #3
glrose67

Hey thanks for that - just made a call to Clives! The tag that came with it looked a 100 years old - didn't think they'd be in business. cheers.
glrose67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2023, 09:16 PM   #4
Synchro909

So what grinds is it?
Old 11-02-2023, 10:12 AM   #5
GeneBob

This might help:
https://www.fordgarage.com/pages/camshaftspecs.htm
GeneBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2023, 11:37 AM   #6
Jim Brierley

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Interesting that he says the B has only one profile. The one shown is for the latest B design. I grind cams, mostly A/B's, and that one is the most rare of 3 different profiles. Most B cams have .302" of lobe lift, some have .315" and the latest is shown in the Ford Garage article.

Last edited by Jim Brierley; 11-02-2023 at 11:38 AM. Reason: added info
Jim Brierley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2023, 05:57 PM   #7
Synchro909

So, it seems that cam shaft is a B 6250 grind?
Given the EXCELLENT condition of the distributor/oil pump drive, it is an excellent cam shaft. Good pickup, Greg.
Old 11-03-2023, 06:55 AM   #8
Bob Bidonde