Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 10-11-2014, 11:10 AM   #1
Clem Clement

Default Future of Hershey and our hobby

I'm studying the signs of what is happening and what our future is:

What do you guys think about the trends for Hershey?

I saw the huge effect of eBay both on prices and lowering amount of goods

the crowd was strong, but down some

I sold Model A parts well, but many were AR and therefore interest.

I saw lots of gray hair and not so many of the next generation

Many say the next generation is of a turn Key mentality and doesn't want to fix up old cars just for the fun of it.

There was about 15% vacant booths. One of the AACA tent guys said they had sold 9000 spaces and had 8000 available. I don't believe those numbers.

Folks were certainly friendly as always.

I learned so much:
1) early Model A doors had flat inside structural steel. Later the strength grooves were added.

2) I have a Script head. I was told that is was later Ford manufacture and that it was for the industrial engines. A fellow said that was a diamond head". he showed me the diamond(I has not seen it as the diamond was buried in goo. It is near the water pump mount.)

Folks are so willing to share info. this is a great part of this hobby.

Other comments, please!
Clem Clement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 11:16 AM   #2
msmaron

Send a message via AIM to msmaron
Default Re: Future of Hershey and our hobby

The Diamond Block..."Diamond"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2872.jpg (41.4 KB, 124 views)
National Facebook Admin.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/MARC.group/

A7191-Sport Coupe
29 Roadster
29-Town Sedan
29-Original Special Coupe
msmaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 11:38 AM   #3
AL in NY

Mark, that photo is upside down. Hard to recognize.
Old 10-11-2014, 11:46 AM   #4
msmaron

Send a message via AIM to msmaron