Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2021, 06:49 PM   #1
coolcoupe
Senior Member
 
coolcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ontario,Canada
Posts: 378
Default Radios

Wondered if anyone had ever installed a different radio inside the casing of a 47
Ford car ? It wouldn''t matter if it was 6/12 volt. Is it possible ?
coolcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 07:22 PM   #2
coolcoupe
Senior Member
 
coolcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ontario,Canada
Posts: 378
Default Re: Radios

Wondered if anyone had ever installed a different radio inside the casing of a 47
Ford car radio ? It wouldn''t matter if it was 6/12 volt. Is it possible ?
coolcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-16-2021, 07:29 PM   #3
paul2748
Senior Member
 
paul2748's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 3,160
Default Re: Radios

There are some people out there that can put modern guts on the inside while maintaining the stock appearance. For a 47 radio, I don't know. Try Hemmings
__________________
48 Ford Conv
56 Tbird
54 Ford Victoria
paul2748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 07:41 PM   #4
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 13,336
Default Re: Radios

I can't vouch for them but they've been around a while. Check the link for a basic run down of services. There are others that do the same thing.

http://www.turnswitch.com/radio1.htm
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 07:45 PM   #5
Ken/Alabama
Senior Member
 
Ken/Alabama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Radios

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotorwrench View Post
I can't vouch for them but they've been around a while. Check the link for a basic run down of services. There are others that do the same thing.

http://www.turnswitch.com/radio1.htm
Good folks. They’ve done a couple radios for me with modern internals and 6 volt.
Ken/Alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2021, 08:38 PM   #6
51504bat
Senior Member
 
51504bat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SoCal-Redlands
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: Radios

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
This video is a couple of years old but the mods to the radio are impressive.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1LQDpBNi8c
__________________
Making the simple complicated for over 30 years.
51504bat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 04:42 PM   #7
coolcoupe
Senior Member
 
coolcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ontario,Canada
Posts: 378
Default Re: Radios

I was thinking of trying to put a complete radio inside of my radio case and was wondered if anyone has done it ?
coolcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 08:15 PM   #8
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 13,336
Default Re: Radios

Why put the whole thing in there? Modern radios aren't much more than a tuner with a couple of circuit boards inside.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 02:35 PM   #9
coolcoupe
Senior Member
 
coolcoupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ontario,Canada
Posts: 378
Default Re: Radios

Rotorwench, I was thinking of the volume and tuning knobs that might be at the wrong spacing. In my 47 the spacing between knobs is 7''. I thought I might able to find a complete radio with that spacing to drop in.
Any ideas ? I do have a nice chxxy radio that I could try but the volume and tuning knobs are only 5'' I'm only trying to get FM stations that I can control from the front of the radio. Thanks for help, Moe
coolcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 07:56 PM   #10
rotorwrench
Senior Member
 
rotorwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 13,336
Default Re: Radios

They can actually use the original control set if it's still in good restorable condition. On/off/volume is just a rheostat/switch and any form of tuner will work including presets if the set is so equipped. Some radios also have tone selections and they are just different switch functions. There are a lot of possibilities when working with a mix of old and new technologies.
rotorwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 09:13 PM   #11
woodja
Junior Member
 
woodja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to woodja
Default Re: Radios

You might try 'Ralph the Radio Guy', he just did a great job on my '41.
I don't know about a web site, but email him at



rc70@comcast.net --------------nice guy and easy to work with. Pete
woodja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.