Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2020, 10:06 PM   #1
cw253748
Member
 
cw253748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Darien, WI.
Posts: 45
Default New pitman arm too loose

Hello Ford Barn,
I just bought a new pitman arm from one of our good venders and its too loose on the gear box. I tightened the pinch bolt pretty tight and it still wont tighten up. I will call the vender tomorrow but was wondering if anybody else has run into this? The old pitman arm tightens up very good when reinstalled.
Thanks
Chris
cw253748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2020, 11:42 PM   #2
1930-Pickup
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: southern California
Posts: 725
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Chris- That's an odd one.

I replaced my late-1930 pitman arm a few years ago with the shortened version to make steering easier. If anything, the arm was ever so slightly too tight. I had to spread the arm a little bit to slip it onto the gear box sector shaft.

Are you using the early 7-Tooth steering box, or a 2-Tooth? I'm not sure it will make a difference, but its good to know where you're coming from.
__________________
"That's my wild unsubstantiated guess, and I'm sticking to it regardless of the facts!"
1930-Pickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 08-23-2020, 11:55 PM   #3
quickchange
Senior Member
 
quickchange's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nelson. New Zealand
Posts: 1,877
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Stick in the vise & squeeze it up , then you can tighten the bolt easier , OR its faulty ,
quickchange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 12:05 AM   #4
1930-Pickup
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: southern California
Posts: 725
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickchange View Post
Stick in the vise & squeeze it up , then you can tighten the bolt easier , OR its faulty ,
Yeah, that would do it, maybe.

I know that I'm way too anal-retentive. With my personality, I would find the root cause of a problem before squeezing the daylights out of it. But hey, that's why I don't have many followers
__________________
"That's my wild unsubstantiated guess, and I'm sticking to it regardless of the facts!"
1930-Pickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 07:16 AM   #5
cw253748
Member
 
cw253748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Darien, WI.
Posts: 45
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

It’s a 2 tooth gearbox but that shouldn’t matter
cw253748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 07:36 AM   #6
jak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mt. Airy Md
Posts: 112
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
There were some issues years ago, the 2 tooth sectors were a bit undersized. That may be your issue.
jak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 08:28 AM   #7
Marshall V. Daut
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 1,447
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Check your "Private Messages" in the top right corner of this webpage.
Marshall
Marshall V. Daut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 02:54 PM   #8
McMimmcs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Posts: 724
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

instead of private messages share the information with everyone. If you don't it defeats the pu pose of the forum !
McMimmcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 03:18 PM   #9
Bill G
Senior Member
 
Bill G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 765
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshall V. Daut View Post
Check your "Private Messages" in the top right corner of this webpage.
Marshall

I am having a similar issue with my new Pitman arm. Do you have info on that? I have tried the vise method, but I was afraid of cracking it because I was afraid it was cast, which I now see is not the case.
__________________
-Bill G
Member of Walla Walla Sweet A's Model A Club

Last edited by Bill G; 08-29-2020 at 12:08 AM.
Bill G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 03:22 PM   #10
1930-Pickup
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: southern California
Posts: 725
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by McMimmcs View Post
instead of private messages share the information with everyone. If you don't it defeats the pu pose of the forum !
I'm curious myself. Whats so 'private' about helping this member with a tech issue? The only thing that comes to mind is the age old motivator...money.
__________________
"That's my wild unsubstantiated guess, and I'm sticking to it regardless of the facts!"
1930-Pickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 03:28 PM   #11
1930-Pickup
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: southern California
Posts: 725
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill G View Post
I am having a similar issue with my new Pitman arm. Do you have info on that? I have tried the vise method, but I am afraid of cracking it because it is cast.
I'm pretty sure they're forged. I was wrong once before though, maybe.
__________________
"That's my wild unsubstantiated guess, and I'm sticking to it regardless of the facts!"
1930-Pickup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 06:23 PM   #12
Razkid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 16
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1930-Pickup View Post
I'm curious myself. Whats so 'private' about helping this member with a tech issue? The only thing that comes to mind is the age old motivator...money.
Marshall answered one of my questions using private message and no money was involved!
Razkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 07:09 PM   #13
Ruth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Glide, Oregon
Posts: 655
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Marshall never shares his knowledge on the forum. But I guess that is his right to not participate in the discussion so everyone may learn. Like someone mentioned it kind of defeats the purpose of a "Forum".

forum | ˈfrəm |
noun (plural forums)
1 a place, meeting, or medium where ideas and views on a particular issue can be exchanged.
__________________
"Sometimes you really DO need to read the whole thread"

Last edited by Ruth; 08-24-2020 at 07:27 PM.
Ruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 07:34 PM   #14
The Master Cylinder
Senior Member
 
The Master Cylinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 505
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

I guess he doesn't like us Model A guys. I have seen him post on the 'T' and V-8 forums and the Swap Meet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cw253748 View Post
I will call the vender tomorrow...
Thanks
Chris
Chris, Let us know what you find out from the vendor. It would be nice to know and perhaps help someone else with a similar problem.
__________________
The Master Cylinder

Enjoying life at the beach in SoCal...

Last edited by The Master Cylinder; 08-24-2020 at 07:43 PM.
The Master Cylinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 08:16 PM   #15
Jim/GA
Senior Member
 
Jim/GA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Young Harris, GA
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by McMimmcs View Post
instead of private messages share the information with everyone. If you don't it defeats the pu pose of the forum !
This is a tough one.

I don't know about Marshall, but I have seen many people answer a question on this forum in the past and then get jumped all over by others about how they are wrong, they are ruining their car, etc. It makes a person not want to jump right up and answer, and be subjected to all that.

So maybe in the future people can post what they found as the SOLUTION to their problem, once it is fixed. I have seen a few of that sort of post here lately, which is good. Then others will have something to read that they know worked (at least for that person).

__________________
Jim Cannon
"Have a Model A day!"
  • Repair
  • Restore
  • Drive
  • Enjoy!
  • Join MAFCA
http://tinyurl.com/Join-MAFCA
Jim/GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 10:42 PM   #16
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,621
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by McMimmcs View Post
instead of private messages share the information with everyone. If you don't it defeats the pu pose of the forum !
It's probably because they don't want someone like you jumping all over their a** with theoretical information.
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 07:07 AM   #17
aermotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 794
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1930-Pickup View Post
I'm pretty sure they're forged. I was wrong once before though, maybe.
This is something that needs to be verified to see if it is forged. I read somewhere that the model A has over 150 forgings. If it is forged lay into it with the vice, it won't break.
John

Last edited by aermotor; 08-25-2020 at 10:32 AM.
aermotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 10:09 AM   #18
katy
Senior Member
 
katy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,814
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
I have tried the vise method, but I am afraid of cracking it because it is cast.
Not likely that the arm would be made out of cast iron, that would be a major safety issue.
__________________
Play it again Sam.
katy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 10:46 PM   #19
cw253748
Member
 
cw253748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Darien, WI.
Posts: 45
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Called the vender who could check the blue prints and give me the actual spec. Of the pitman arm and the new arm was inspect. I had to crank the pinch bolt a bit tighter and the pitman arm is now nice and tight to the shaft.
cw253748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2020, 07:07 AM   #20
aermotor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 794
Default Re: New pitman arm too loose

Quote:
Originally Posted by cw253748 View Post
Called the vender who could check the blue prints and give me the actual spec. Of the pitman arm and the new arm was inspect. I had to crank the pinch bolt a bit tighter and the pitman arm is now nice and tight to the shaft.
So, did the vender say it was forged? If so that would give peace of mind that really torqueing the bolt won't hurt the arm.

John
aermotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.