Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-27-2017, 02:47 PM   #1
Ol' Ron

Default Off Topic, 1918 the building of wooden airplanes

I think most of yoy will appreciate the technoligy and manufacturing of 100 years ago. Including the Liberty V12 engine. Maybe someone will know which aircraft they were making. I thought it was a Jn-4 but???
Enjoy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOU78bhu7iI
Ol' Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 02:54 PM   #2
AnthonyG

Default Re: Off Topic, 1918 the building of wooden airplanes

Very cool Ol' Ron, I'm an old Machinist so especially enjoyed the over head leather power belts running multiple machines from a common shaft above. The V12 crankcase looked to be aluminum? Pretty advanced for the time.
Old 03-27-2017, 03:31 PM   #3
J Witt

Those look like DH-4 biplanes using the Packard built Liberty V-12, a larger plane and higher performance than the Jenny.

The JN series mostly used the Curtiss OX overhead valve V-8s, later ones used a Hispano-Suiza V-8.

I did a lot of research on Jennies, at one point, to build this model. It's now in the Airman's Museum as part of the National Air and Space Museum collection.

The Jennies were manufactured using the methods as shown in the video though. Thanks for the link.

John
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1017-resize.jpg (53.2 KB, 59 views)
Old 03-27-2017, 05:52 PM   #4
rotorwrench