Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2020, 09:47 PM   #1
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 311
Default Assistance Needed !

I owned a Model A Coupe over 50 + years ago and about 30 + years ago reverted back to the "dark-side" after inheriting my Gramps' 1924 TT C-cab - so, I'm helping a friend who's new to the old car hobby and bought a '29 P/U for his wife to sport around in - nice A BUT has a couple issues I'm attempting to resolve - here's the question: I'm having the distributor rebuilt so whilst removing the armored ignition cable clamp from that particular stud near the distributor, I removed the stud nut, which was tight but not frozen when coolant began to puddle around that stud - WTH ! Any guidance from you folks on possible causes ?
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2020, 09:51 PM   #2
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8,079
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Should have drained the coolant or water first .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 06-13-2020, 10:03 PM   #3
John Dayhuff
Member
 
John Dayhuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Battle Creek, Michigan
Posts: 97
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

I think I'm seeing the same thing happen on my car, not sure whats going on but I didn't have this problem until after I put in a leakless water pump and filled it with three gallons of water.
__________________
John
John Dayhuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 06:29 AM   #4
Patrick L.
Senior Member
 
Patrick L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Upstate NY and western Florida
Posts: 5,965
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Once the cable is off, I leave that clamp off and just add a thin washer in its place.
I like to be able to quickly/easily remove the distributor.
Patrick L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 08:34 AM   #5
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 890
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick L. View Post
Once the cable is off, I leave that clamp off and just add a thin washer in its place.
I like to be able to quickly/easily remove the distributor.

Lotís of folks do the same, and that is appealing to me as well. However, when I tried that on my car (with three different armored ignition cables), the spark rod linkage rubs on the armored cable. Does the armored cable rub the spark rod linkage on your car?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 09:27 AM   #6
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 311
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
No, the cable is clear and no coolant was present prior to removing the clamp so I'm not
clear as to why removing the pressure from one nut could cause the leak.

Purdy - Why would I need to drain the cooling system to remove ONE stud nut ? Model T's use head bolts in which one of them holds the horn bracket - one can remove that bolt & no coolant escapes !
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 10:07 AM   #7
TerryO
Senior Member
 
TerryO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: N. GA
Posts: 321
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Quote:
Why would I need to drain the cooling system to remove ONE stud nut ?



Not Purdy, it prevents the issue you are now dealing with...


TOB
TerryO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 10:07 AM   #8
Russ/40
Senior Member
 
Russ/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santee, California
Posts: 3,301
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

It's a common complaint. You wouldn't think one stud would allow enough movement of the head to allow a leak, but it is what it is, and people just drop the water leval.
Russ/40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 10:49 AM   #9
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 311
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Interesting !
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 11:00 AM   #10
wmws
BANNED
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Coatesville, Pa
Posts: 719
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

I have the clamp on my armored cable but I just hook it over the long stud and don't put it under the nut. That way it is in place and doesn't rub on anything and when I want to take the distributor out I just slip it off the stud. Also I think there is two different lengths of armored cable available. Some may rub more than others.
wmws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2020, 11:59 AM   #11
shew01
Senior Member
 
shew01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Roanoke, VA USA
Posts: 890
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmws View Post
Also I think there is two different lengths of armored cable available. Some may rub more than others.
Hmmm... Thatís the first Iíve heard of that.

Thanks for the idea of just hooking the clamp across the top of that stud. I wish I had thought of that while I had it apart.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shew01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2020, 11:59 AM   #12
jetmek
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: albany
Posts: 368
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

The stud is right next to a steam hole. Often source of a crack allowing seepage to stud. Also most blocks and or heads have a fair bit of warp when tension is relieved water can migrate from the steam hole
__________________
engine and component overhauls my specialty!
Website- www.godevilgarage.com
jetmek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2020, 11:36 PM   #13
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 311
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

I thank you kindly for a possible answer !
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 01:01 PM   #14
CarlG
Senior Member
 
CarlG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 8,621
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmws View Post
I have the clamp on my armored cable but I just hook it over the long stud and don't put it under the nut. That way it is in place and doesn't rub on anything and when I want to take the distributor out I just slip it off the stud. Also I think there is two different lengths of armored cable available. Some may rub more than others.
I did pretty much the same thing. I altered the clamp so that it only had one thickness on the stud, then secured it with a thin jamb nut.

As to the different lengths of the armored cable, the original goes all the way up to the ignition switch. Then there is the aftermarket type that only goes up to the terminal box so that it "looks" original but is easier to deal with. Then there's the kind that is just a little skinny cable that does not look original.
__________________
Alaskan A's
Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
Model A Ford Club of America
Model A Restorers Club
Antique Automobile Club of America
Mullins Owner's Club

Last edited by CarlG; 06-16-2020 at 01:05 PM. Reason: add info
CarlG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 08:10 AM   #15
mike657894
Senior Member
 
mike657894's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Bay City Michigan
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

someone drilled that hole to fix a broken stud and went to deep. that stud will require sealant or sealant tape.
mike657894 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 09:34 AM   #16
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 311
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

That's possible - it had a new repro iron head installed. I did run a piece of 1/8" round stock down into the block hole and it hit bottom - I don't believe it's in the water jacket but who knows ! I'll seal the new stud upon installation.
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 11:23 AM   #17
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 311
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Any recommendations for a proper sealant ?
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 12:16 PM   #18
Ernie Vitucci
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 401
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Good Morning...You can take the stud out and put a bit of 'Anti Seize' on it and put it back in and then torque it down...I would lower the water level before you do it! Also, if your machine is only a driver, those pop outs can short inside the cable and leave you stranded. You might want to consider a replacement key switch...most likely safer in the long run. The stock only folks might get bent out of shape...Ernie in Arizona
Ernie Vitucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2020, 12:38 PM   #19
stevests
Senior Member
 
stevests's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Longbranch, Washington
Posts: 311
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

Thanks Ernie - cooling system is drained to service & install new hoses - car had been sitting for some time. I have several types of "sealant" - just wondering if one was preferred over another - like Permatex #2 ?
stevests is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 08:17 AM   #20
Purdy Swoft
Senior Member
 
Purdy Swoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 8,079
Default Re: Assistance Needed !

The model A engine only has 14 head studs and nuts . The tiny little 60 horsepower flathead V8 had 17 head studs per head . There just isn't a lot of pressure holding the model A head in place compared to the other Ford engines . Loosening or removing even one head nut without first draining the coolant runs the risk of a leak . I always drain mine first .
Purdy Swoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.