Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-06-2020, 03:18 PM   #1
Ross_t

Default transmission noise while in neutral, goes away when clutch is depressed.

Newbie here, (transmission noise issue,) finishing up on assembling a Frankenstein 1928 pickup. . long story short, no noise when I first heard this truck run. I have since drained and refilled with the correct 600w lube, added a new speedometer cable. I pulled the bell housing inspection plate and the throw out bearing is not making contact with the pressure plate when running in neutral. the previous owner installed a transmission that he freshened with new bearings. I assume the speedo cable has nothing to do with this as it makes noise sitting still. I'll probably pull the transmission top cover tomorrow and do a visual while in the truck. Ideas?
Ross_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 03:46 PM   #2
Gold Digger

Default Re: transmission noise while in neutral, goes away when clutch is depressed.

Hard to say what makes the noise for sure with out disassembling it, but it probable is a rough bearing new or used.
Gold Digger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 03:58 PM   #3
old31

Default Re: transmission noise while in neutral, goes away when clutch is depressed.

Ross, does it make more noise with the clutch pushed in or out?

It is definitely not the speedo cable.
old31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 04:01 PM   #4
Greg Jones