Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-01-2017, 10:06 PM   #1
29Phaeton

Default 31 Cabriolet backfires when started cold

Newbie here so I apologize if this is basic. I start my car and it starts right up, but unless I pull the choke about 2/3 out it starts to backfire through the carb when I try to give it gas. My GAV is about 3/4 turn. After about 5 minutes I can push the choke rod all the way in, move the GAV to about 1/4 turn and it starts to accelerate better (not always without a pop here and ther). I know most cars need some choke when cold, so is this backfire normal when starting an A when cold and without choke? So far I have rebuilt the Zenith, new fuel line (and verified good flow), new distributor, cap and plugs (all gapped to specs), adjusted the timing which seems spot on and just replaced the manifold gasket. When she's warm the idle is good with a miss here and there but sounds decent. I'm not running with a thermostat and my car is still 6 volt.

I should also point out I removed the plugs and cranked the engine by hand to verify the valves are not stuck. They all opened and closed as they should.

Do you start your A partially choked until she warms up? If not, does yours backfire through the carb?

Last edited by 29Phaeton; 01-01-2017 at 10:17 PM.
29Phaeton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 10:18 PM   #2
Mitch//pa
BANNED

Default Re: 31 Cabriolet backfires when started cold

The first thing you should do is find out why you have a miss here and there. It should not do that and may be contributing to your cold issue.
That being said a properly tuned and correct running car does not need to be choked during warm up. The gav should be opened more for that initial Cold start and warm up. I usually open it about 1 to 1/1/4 turns from closed.