Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-20-2017, 11:30 PM   #1
roh1332

Default Leaking head gasket

So here’s my problem. I’m working on getting my 28 CCPU running. I’ve rebuilt the carbuerator and fixed a few other small items. Tonight I’m happy to say that I got it running for the first time in about five years. Super exciting. Unfortunately, I now discovered a leaking head gasket above the exhaust manifold. I am being told the the gasket was changed about six years ago when work was done on the engine to get the engine unseized and running. I doubt the engine was ran at all until now. In reading the forum, some suggestions say to re-torque the head bolts, as I’m sure that hasn’t been done. Do I do that, or should I replace the whole head gasket? And since I’m new to working on this truck, how hard is it to just change a head gasket? Thanks.
roh1332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 11:44 PM   #2
Drive Shaft Dave

Default Re: Leaking head gasket

I would give the head a retorque 55ft lbs. Changing the head gasket wouldn't be a bad job as long as it isn't stuck to bad.
Drive Shaft Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 11:48 PM   #3
eswanson

Give it a retorque first 55lbs. If that fails then replacing one isn't all that hard but when you take the head off try and check that the head is smooth and flat, it may need to be sent off and surfaced. But don't assume the worst until you've ruled out the simple.

Eric Swanson
1931 Model A Pickup
eswanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 12:00 AM   #4
700rpm