Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-31-2021, 05:36 PM   #1
Russell Reay

Default Why so many upgrades??

Newbie here again. I am still collecting books and reading catalogs, and watching videos in preparation for dismantling my car. I have noted the availability of 12 volt conversions, new distributors, improved carburetors, high compression heads, oil filter kits, and exhaust headers all of which will make the engine more powerful and the car go faster. I have noted several apparently credible persons comment that it is risky to beef up the Model A engine too much, because the center main bearing is a known weak spot. Do owners really make numerous such upgrades, or do they normally choose just one or two to solve a specific problem?
Russell Reay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2021, 06:20 PM   #2
Synchro909

Default Re: Why so many upgrades??

IMO, the use of performance improving upgrades is a balancing act. I have used all of the things you have mentioned but not without improving the middle main bearing's chances of surviving it all. I took pity on the bearing and used a counterbalanced crank shaft and pressure fed it. The others, I left with standard oiling. That motor has now done about 40,000 miles - most of them towing my camper which weighs about one US ton at 50 mph. Going faster is not the only reason engines are upgraded. I think I would have been walking a long time ago if I hadn't taken those measures.
Old 05-31-2021, 06:25 PM   #3
aermotor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell Reay View Post