Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2020, 10:54 AM   #1
41panelmark
Senior Member
 
41panelmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,252
Default Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

I would like to install a pair as my engine does not currently have any. Too cold now not to have them. Should I look for a pair of N.O.S. or are the new ones the vendors have ok to use?

thanks in advance.
41panelmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 11:38 AM   #2
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,102
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

There are several ways to go, kinda up to you which way you prefer. One way is the Subaru thermostats. The Subaru Justy is what is commonly referenced, but the same thermostats are used in several different makes, models and years. The normal reference you will see is Subaru Justy 1990. They have to be retain someway. You can use wires that catch under the hoses and clamps. Or you can double clamp them (an extra champ just above where the thermostat is in the hose). There are several other methods to retain them.

Another option is the barrel type of thermostats that go in the upper hoses near the radiator.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Thermostates.jpg (16.0 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg DSC00519_zpsdda17c13.jpg (79.4 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN0754_zpsf2137321.jpg (71.7 KB, 26 views)
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-01-2020, 12:01 PM   #3
FortyNiner
Senior Member
 
FortyNiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: u-rah-rah-Wisconsin
Posts: 956
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

I tried a conventional new stat (not those JSeery helpfully posted) they were okay but harder to keep seated. The nos versions that I found shortly after have stayed put and performed flawlessly. The longer housing seems to help a bunch with holding position. Either one will work.
__________________
19 and 49 F1 - jes' like Henry II built
1946 Deluxe - as Henry built it
FortyNiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 12:05 PM   #4
flatjack9
Senior Member
 
flatjack9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oshkosh, Wi
Posts: 4,091
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

I use Stant 45848 - 180 deg.
flatjack9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 12:18 PM   #5
Drbrown
Senior Member
 
Drbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Glens Falls NY
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

I got Stant stats and installed them on top of the cast iron head outlets using a third type of installation method I found on the forum.

At NAPA I bought a foot long piece of straight radiator hose and cut two one-inch pieces off it. The diameter of that hose was selected to fit snugly inside the regular radiator hose. I positioned the pieces to sit about an inch up inside the bottom of the regular hose, and glued them inside. They hold the stat in-place and the hose clamp is installed below them on the flange of the head. Their thickness matches that of the stat flange and so they do not hinder coolant flow. They been in for about 3 years without a problem.
Drbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 12:22 PM   #6
Ford Freak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pittsford NY. USA
Posts: 880
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
I went the same route as Drbrown . 5 yrs. now w/no problems .....F F
Ford Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 03:05 PM   #7
G.M.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida and Penna.
Posts: 4,471
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

What is the difference in NEW or NOS??? G.M.
__________________
www.fordcollector.com
G.M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 03:22 PM   #8
JSeery
Senior Member
 
JSeery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 16,102
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

Think this has already been covered several times. Most modern thermostats are sandwiched between two surfaces that retain it. The OEM thermostats fit up into the hose and did not require anything to retain them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg automotive-thermostat-4622721.jpg (31.2 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Thermostats.jpg (53.8 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by JSeery; 11-01-2020 at 03:31 PM.
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 03:30 PM   #9
flatford8
Senior Member
 
flatford8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lyman,ME.
Posts: 2,001
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

Either new or NOS they should be tested in a pan of hot water with a thermometer.....Mark
__________________
I'm thinkin' about crankin'
My ragged ol' truck up
and haulin' myself into town.
Billy Joe Shaver
flatford8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 09:42 PM   #10
41panelmark
Senior Member
 
41panelmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,252
Default Re: Thermostats 59-a new or NOS?

Sorry, wrong use of terms. I meant to say N.O.S. vs. modern.
41panelmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.