Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-20-2021, 04:19 AM   #1
philcobill

Question Cylinder head replacing questions.

I am in the middle of changing a head gasket and want to do it the "right way." However, this is my first time and I have a lot of questions. There are a several YouTube videos covering this subject, and they all contain great information, but I have some gaps of knowledge which I was like to have filled as well as possible.

1. The job is necessary because the gasket blew. See my previous posts. I decided to go with the head what was already on the engine because it looks in good condition and was not leaking to the outside. If I can get more life out of it until it fails in the future, I can always replace it with a new head.

2. The head is aluminum and assumed to be high compression. approx 5.5 to 1

3. The gasket is the 509g B-6051-XO gasket which has been recommended for my situation. If there is a better one, let me know. I was told to stay away from copper clad gaskets.

4. I have been able to clean up the head, but sure if I really need to re-mill it because it fit all right before the blow out. The deck looks flat. Should I have it milled anyway?

5. I have done an initial cleanup of the block. There was a bit of gunk on it. How clean does it need to be? It is difficult to scrape off the gunk around the valves and I am afraid of getting the gunk into places it shoud not go.

6. What should I do about the stud holes? It looks like there is gunk at the bottom of most of them.

7. I cleaned out rust in the number 4 hole. It was definitely plugged up and is clear now.

8. What kind of sealant should I use with the gasket I am using?

9. If I am missing something, let me know.

Bill
Walworth, NY
philcobill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2021, 05:49 AM   #2
nkaminar

Default Re: Cylinder head replacing questions.