Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2021, 09:26 PM   #1
Ordsgt
Member
 
Ordsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yorktown Virginia
Posts: 39
Default Light issue

My 1930 Tudor was working fine and all the lights worked as they should. I installed new reflectors and my problems began. Had ground issues and then my switch came apart. A friend gave me two new ones he had and the first one had all the lights going on at the wrong positions. I put the 2nd switch on and it worked as it should but could not get power to the high beam. Compared the two switches and found the first was assembled wrong 180 out. Ordered 2 new US made switches and both will not send power to high beam. Checked the wire to the high beam and no voltage. The wiring harness was replaced in September last year. I am stumped.
My friend who has a couple of As has the exact same problem on one of his.
Any Ideas?
Thanks
Des
Ordsgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 07:14 AM   #2
nkaminar
Senior Member
 
nkaminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: Light issue

Go back to the switch that supplied power to the lights but was in the wrong position. Then change the wires at the lights or reverse the bulb. I think the pins on the bulbs are diametrically opposed but someone correct me if I am wrong. I have the quartz bulbs so I cannot go out to the garage and look. The low beam filament should be on top so that the beam points more down than high beam.


For reference, regarding the ground, the instructions are to drill out one of the rivets where the headlight bucket mounts at the bottom and install a screw that can be used as a grounding point.
__________________
A is for apple, green as the sky.
Step on the gas, for tomorrow I die.
Forget the brakes, they really don't work.
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.
nkaminar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 07-16-2021, 07:25 AM   #3
Ordsgt
Member
 
Ordsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yorktown Virginia
Posts: 39
Default Re: Light issue

The switch that used to send power to the lights came apart inside and that was why it was replaced. The current switch has the same positioning as the switch that did work. with wires disconnected from the lights there is no power to the low beam in any position. It is the same with 3 different switches 2 manufacturers

Last edited by Ordsgt; 07-16-2021 at 12:19 PM.
Ordsgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 01:07 PM   #4
Ordsgt
Member
 
Ordsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yorktown Virginia
Posts: 39
Default Re: Light issue

Correction to post. the high beam would go on high setting but not low beam. As I drive this daily I needed headlight to at least work on low beam so i flipped the bulb so on the high setting it is actually the low beam. Still am not able to figure why low beam power wire never gets voltage.
Ordsgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 06:30 PM   #5
nkaminar
Senior Member
 
nkaminar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: Light issue

My guess is that there is something wrong in the switch. Try to see if the correct contacts line up at the different positions. Perhaps the switch spider is worn. I have not had a lot of experience with the light switch, they have always worked on the cars that I have had. So perhaps someone else can add to the discussion.

Did you use an ohm meter to trace the wire from the light to the switch to know if it is good?
__________________
A is for apple, green as the sky.
Step on the gas, for tomorrow I die.
Forget the brakes, they really don't work.
The clutch always sticks, and starts with a jerk.
My car grows red hair, and flies through the air.
Driving's a blast, a blast from the past.
nkaminar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 08:32 PM   #6
Ordsgt
Member
 
Ordsgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Yorktown Virginia
Posts: 39
Default Re: Light issue

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
I will try the ohm meter tomarrow
Ordsgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 09:02 PM   #7
Barry B./ Ma.
Senior Member
 
Barry B./ Ma.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southbridge, Ma.
Posts: 1,614
Default Re: Light issue

I know its not right but I bought 4 switches before I could get one to work. I am building a speedster stylr A now and I plan to use a 3 position pull switch.
Barry B./ Ma. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.