Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Early V8 (1932-53)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 03-24-2016, 12:52 PM   #1
pogobill

Default shoebox starting issues

I've been enjoying my '50 Ford for a few years now. Never had much of a hitch with anything until lately.
One issue I've always seemed to have is black oily looking exhaust discharge. It leaves a good mark on the ground if I rev up the engine a little. Can this be a carb issue?
I've also had trouble getting the car running after sitting for the winter. I've tried to fire it up a number of times and although it will seem to eventually fire intermittently, she just won't catch. A blessing in disguise I figure, as I checked the oil again after a few days of trying it , and it seems the oil has been displaced by gasoline!
Never seen this before! Have I just flooded it so bad that the gas has leaked through the ring and into the pan! Can't think of anything else. Any thoughts on these issues would be appreciated.
The majority of my mechanical expertise is in the art of purchasing spark plugs and oil filters. Other than that, I can find these things a bit of a challenge.
Cheers
Bill
pogobill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 12:57 PM   #2
ponymare

Default Re: shoebox starting issues

Sounds like a carb rebuild is in order, remove the plugs, clean and dry them, them put a small amount of oil in each cyl, replace the plugs, and if your points are firing like they should, it will start right up. It will smoke like crazy for a few minutes, but will clear up, but the discharge you speak of at the exhaust, you might try running it harder and longer.
ponymare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 12:59 PM   #3
JSeery
Member Emeritus

Fuel pump diaphragm ruptured and pumping gas into the engine?
JSeery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 01:48 PM   #4
Frank Miller

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSeery View Post