The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Battery/Starter Advice Needed (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=293487)

pjdeb 01-24-2021 06:30 PM

Battery/Starter Advice Needed

I have been focusing my headlights. So the battery was drawn down. Battery is two years old. When starting the A, the starter whirls, but does not engage.

Recharged the battery. Read 6.2 volts. Starter whirls and still does not engage. Crank started and went for half hour ride. Back in the garage. No go.

Before pulling the starter to look at solinoid or bendix, thought I would ask for some advice. I am not an electrical engineer. Could it be that battery voltage is OK, but it is not delivering enough cranking amperage?

Grounds are tight and clean.

Thanks

Gary WA 01-24-2021 06:48 PM

Re: Battery/Starter Advice Needed

Could be even tho battery says 6.2 V, May not be, I went thru three batteries in a week with the same results. Says good but not. Changed to NAPA battery- All is good. Take it to a reliable supplier and they can put a load test on it,right after you think it may be charged.

Jacksonlll 01-24-2021 06:50 PM

Broken bendix spring. No big deal. Easy fix.

Oldgearz 01-24-2021 06:57 PM

Agree. Sounds like bad Bendix.

Ivan in southeast va. 01-24-2021 07:00 PM

You will have to remove starter. Easy fix.

JBill 01-25-2021 10:44 AM

If it does turn out to be the bendix, make sure you get any debris (like a broken bolt, e.g.) out of the flywheel housing--if there is any debris. Might not be. Lots of advice on this board on how to get stuff out of there. Magnets, gobs of grease, etc.

pjdeb 01-25-2021 08:53 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Well, it has been a learning experience, anyway. Removed the starter. Expected to find broken bendix spring. Looks good. Am I missing something in the attached picture?