The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   6 blade plastic radiator fan (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=305571)

carol ann 10-23-2021 11:13 AM

6 blade plastic radiator fan

Hello, I just received "mikes-afordable" 6 blade plastic fan with fan belt, water pump fan mounting set and fan knock off tool for my 1931 model a. I'll be replacing the 4 blade metal fan that lost a blade. The installation appears to be straight forward however, I've never done this before so I wanted to ask if anyone has any tips or words of wisdom regarding the installation. Many thanks.

Gene F 10-23-2021 11:50 AM

Re: 6 blade plastic radiator fan

Does it have a metal hub, or a plastic hub?

katy 10-23-2021 12:19 PM

Looks like metal in the photo: https://www.mikes-afordable.com/product/A8600P.html

carol ann 10-23-2021 01:02 PM

it has a metal hub

Gene F 10-23-2021 01:19 PM

The only thing(s) I would say is read the directions. And recheck the tightness of the fan after using the car a little. They tend to losen up for some reason.

I took my 4-blade off, and went to the plastic one like this, and I love the piece of mind it gives me.

Check to see of it rattles on the housing of your waterpump. I filed my edge down just a bit, but don't get crazy with it. That edge has a lot of stength in it. I added a couple of gaskets under my housing to get the alignment right.

carol ann 10-23-2021 03:28 PM

Thank you Gene for both the thumbs up on this type of fan and the tips about what to check. I too am moving to the plastic fan for peace of mind. Seconds before the blade sheared off the fan, a good friend had been looking under the hood to see what the rattle was. He just closed the hood on that side when we heard the bang from the blade shearing off. I shudder to think what could of happened to him. I'll let you know how the installation goes.