The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Dot 5 problems (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=318571)

Royal Ryser 09-23-2022 04:02 PM

Dot 5 problems

I have heard of problems with Dot 5 brake fluid, where the stop light switch would leak fluid after a period or use. It appears that seal inside the switch would start to leak and you would lose fluid.
Any of you had that problem?

19Fordy 09-23-2022 04:34 PM

Re: Dot 5 problems

Do a search on DOT 5 brake Fluid and tons of info. appears.
https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showt...ot+brake+fluid

I have been using DOT 5 for 20 years and a Harley Davidson brake light switch with no problems.

mcgarrett 09-23-2022 04:41 PM

Yep, happened to my stock '40 Ford switch; started leaking and brake lights stopped working. Brake pedal started getting spongy too. Replaced the switch and now back to synthetic DOT 3 fluid - no more problems. For me, silicone fluid wasn't all it was cracked up to be.

Ken/Alabama 09-23-2022 06:36 PM

Been using Dot 5 for over 25 years. Never had a problem with it . I did replace the switch once but not because it was leaking, it burned out because I had halogen taillight bulbs and it put too much current draw on it and eventually burned it out. I bought switches from Ron Francis wiring and Harley Davidson has a good switch also. I put a relay in the brake light circuit so now all the switch does is make and break the ground on the relay.

mcgarrett 09-23-2022 06:51 PM

I would venture to say that the HD brake switch was made to function with, or at least tolerate DOT 5 fluid. As far as I know, the current brake light switches available for our old Fords are not as resistant to the ravages of DOT 5 fluid.

tubman 09-23-2022 06:54 PM