The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Introduction and Fordor Question (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=209949)

Dirtrack49 11-28-2016 06:09 PM

Introduction and Fordor Question

Hi All,

This is my first time on the Model A forum and I am here to introduce myself and ask all of your opinions on a particular vehicle currently for sale on eBay.

My history with car collecting dates back about 40 years. I am currently an owner of a 1926 Model T Touring, 1949 Ford F1 and a 2014 Ford F150 Crew Cab. I have been working on a 1966 Mercedes 230SL for several years. It is currently in driver status. My next project will be the 1949 F1 or possibly completing a Grega GN1 Aircamper. I am not only addicted to cars, but airplanes too. And the collection goes on, but I need to get to this next item.

For years now, I have been looking for a very well done Murray or Briggs fordor. I have finally made a spot for another car by selling one recently. The car is being offered on eBay. http://www.ebay.com/itm/1929-Ford-Mo...m=311746244230
It is also for sale at the dealer in Amarillo, TX. This car appears to be a very well done restoration to me. However, my expertise in Model A's is very limited compared to many of you here on the forum.
The only thing that I would prefer over this car, would be one that has a sidemount spare.
If possible, can anyone give me some insights as to the originality of this vehicle?
TIA
Tom L.
Tehachapi, CA

Brianfrench65 11-28-2016 06:55 PM

Re: Introduction and Fordor Question

Appears to be a nice car.

Sidemounts tend to limit the drivers door opening, making it a little harder to get in / out. Also, sometimes you cannot install or remove a fully inflated spare into the fender well.

If you can, go see and drive the car.

Good Luck;

Kevin in NJ 11-28-2016 07:03 PM

Well here is my probably controversial opinion.