The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   How fast should I drive? (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31786)

Maclab58 03-18-2011 11:43 AM

How fast should I drive?

I just put a new touring engine from Antique Engine Rebuilding in my 28. I Have about 300 miles on it now and it runs great but Im a little concerned as to what the top speed that is safe to drive it. I have hit 60 a couple of times on a short burst but the engine seems to have more room to go. Is there a point where I shouldnt push it past? Im new to A's so any suggestions? BTW, stock trans and rearend, the engine has a balanced crank, insert bearing and Chevy pistons and a lightened flywheel.

RonC 03-18-2011 11:47 AM

Re: How fast should I drive?

I would push a new engine to 60 miles per hour with original gearing. Give it time to break in. Also can you stop at 60?

Bruce Lancaster 03-18-2011 11:50 AM

Put your wife in the car. She'll tell you how fast you can drive!

Maclab58 03-18-2011 11:55 AM

Bruce.................... U hit the nail squarely on the head!:D

Glenn C. 03-18-2011 12:02 PM

Enjoy the view, and the fact you are lucky enough to own a Model A.....45-55 tops.

Colorado Greg 03-18-2011 12:03 PM

Going that fast on a new engine doesn't sound like a good thing to me. They need to be broke in and have the rings seated before pushing them that hard.
I would check with your engine builder and get their recommendations on driving speed and duration of the break-in.
That being said, a stock Model A is said to have a TOP speed of 60mph. You might get a little more RPM with the counterbalanced crank, but without a grearing change or an overdrive, your not going to get much more speed. It is not a good idea to run the car at top speed for very long. Mine is all stock and it likes to run @ 45mph.
Also make sure you have the brakes to stop if you plan on going this fast!!!