The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Engine Stand... I dont see how (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=144411)

lecktrix 07-14-2014 08:03 PM

Engine Stand... I dont see how

Hello all... Im new to the flathead world, and im about to start a rebuild. I know the issue has been discussed tons of times on here... but what should I do... I have seen the exhaust port stands and the front and rear stands. I have two 1948 V8's that I need to tear down. I have done tons of modern motors and I hang them from the bellhousing... I just noticed that part of the bellhousing is the oil pan..
Im definately not comfortable hanging this motor on the top of the bellhousing, and im definately not happy hanging my motor from the exhaust ports...

Am I crazy, or is it safe to suspend a complete motor from the exhaust ports??

Fredb_ 07-14-2014 08:10 PM

Re: Engine Stand... I dont see how

I made a bracket for the exhaust mount and it worked fine for me on a couple different engines.
Fred

Shadetree 07-14-2014 08:13 PM

I felt the same way but it worked fine. I believe I bought my exhaust port mount from Red's headers. Everyone says absolutely not to use the bell housing as it could break, destroying your block.

35fordtn 07-14-2014 08:17 PM

Here is the link to one I used bought off ebay and worked great. http://www.ebay.com/itm/Flathead-For...c73387&vxp=mtr

tiquer 07-14-2014 08:20 PM

Do not hang the motor by the bell houseing alone I have seen a flat motor that was destroyed doing that. It broke a third of the bell houseing away.

Binx 07-14-2014 08:21 PM

I find it easier to tear them apart on a sheet of plywood on the floor then build them up on a stand.

Lonnie

deuce_roadster 07-14-2014 08:28 PM