The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Period correct fire extingusher (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=293084)

flathead 53 01-16-2021 04:44 PM

Period correct fire extingusher

I have a period correct brass fire extingusher with mounting bracket , it was dealer item from ford , iwould like to mount it someware on my restored 53 f-100 , i have an antique potter trunk mounted in the bed ,thinking about next to it , would like to display, it , any ideas ?

FortyNiner 01-16-2021 05:26 PM

Re: Period correct fire extingusher

The ones I've seen were mounted on the floor by the driver's door.

19Fordy 01-16-2021 05:33 PM

I'm no expert but make sure it's filled with the correct Fire Extinguisher Substance for a car fire. I have heard Halon is the best but, is not period correct. I guess you could carry 2.

1942deluxe 01-16-2021 05:46 PM

I was an USAF firefighter and halon was a great agent but I think banned today because of concerns for the ozone. Did it's job and then dissipated . I think we're stuck with dry chem
today which makes a royal mess and creates corrosion.

ford38v8 01-16-2021 06:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1942deluxe (Post 1974893)
I was an USAF firefighter and halon was a great agent but I think banned today because of concerns for the ozone. Did it's job and then dissipated . I think we're stuck with dry chem
today which makes a royal mess and creates corrosion.

Your legal but corrosive dry chemical extinguisher might well be converted to storage space for a good upgraded fire insurance policy. 🤨

Bob C 01-16-2021 07:38 PM

Looks like now they have Halotron.

alanwoodieman 01-16-2021 07:43 PM

the old pump fire ext. were Pyrine? or something akin to it, would put out a fire and remove any color that happened to be near it and aspixiate you in the process

woodiewagon46 01-16-2021 08:07 PM