The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Acceptable rear axle wear (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=149341)

1930.68B 09-11-2014 07:41 PM

Acceptable rear axle wear

What amount wear is acceptable were the axle passes through the differential gear case? I have axles that measure 1.492 to 1.497. Also what amount wear is acceptable were the inner axle seal rides on the axle? I have one that has a groove worn into the axle about .05 to .06 deep.

Ron/IA 09-12-2014 09:12 AM

Re: Acceptable rear axle wear

DITTOU2 - I am not an expert, but have seen groves worn in axles, and they have caused problems leaking for me. Five to six thousandths deep is noticeable where the seal will ride.

As to the wear where the axle passes through the differential gear case; I don't understand. In the gear case the axle is held by a bearing. Are you referring to the play between the axle and said bearing?

Jim Brierley 09-12-2014 10:06 AM

the seal can be moved slightly outboard to give a new area to wear on

redmodelt 09-12-2014 10:30 AM

How would you move the axle seal in the tube outboard? When they are installed it's bottomed out as far as they will go. Because of the cup shape, they can only be installed one way. You might be able to install inboard a tiny bit if you used a spacer and glue to hold them in place. The area where the seal seats is not that deep, maybe just the thickness of the seal and not much more in the axles housings that I have worked with. An alternative might be to just take a lite under cut just where the seal rides to give it a new surface.

Rocketsled 09-12-2014 03:15 PM

You could install a 'Speedi Sleeve' on the axle to provide a new surface for the oil seal.
Put some threadlocker or retaining compound on the axle first, to prevent any leak
path under the 'sleeve'.

1930.68B 09-12-2014 05:05 PM

Ron/IA