The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Starter Stuck (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=302139)

jamesivta 08-06-2021 12:48 PM

Starter Stuck

I am somewhat new to working on model A's. I have a 1928 Deluxe Delivery AR version. It had been sitting for a couple of years. I drained the gas, checked other fluids and put in a new battery. I pushed the starter just to see if it would turn over. It turned over a few times and I let off the starter pedal (big mistake). Now it does nothing when I push in the starter pedal. I checked all the connections and pulled the starter, I bench tested it and it seems to turn fine. After I put it back in, I still get nothing. I am also able to turn the crank without a problem. I have read threads that say this is somewhat common, and to put it in 3rd gear and rock it back and forth. Unfortunately it is parked on an incline so rocking it back and forth is not really a good option. Are there any other suggestions that might work? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Brentwood Bob 08-06-2021 01:03 PM

Re: Starter Stuck

Switch might be kaput.
Pull the starter out and bench test it. A bent shaft, starter ring gear walking off the flywheel,
Are other possible issues.

abachman3 08-06-2021 01:10 PM

If it is working on the bench, then it most likely is the starter switch not making a good connection.

Boston Bruce 08-06-2021 01:34 PM