The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Model A (1928-31) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   steering ball replacement (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=130283)

1930artdeco 01-31-2014 05:27 PM

steering ball replacement

I need to replace the steering spindles on my car. I purchased some that have a pressed on ball and then are tack welded and cleaned up. I am no expert but I was a little worried that the small weld would not hold up.

So I ordered some of the ball stud combos and am going to have the old balls cut off (please leave the comments at the door:D) and new ones welded on.

Can anyone tell me the benefits of either strategy on these? Which one is better?

Mike

Vic in E-TN 01-31-2014 05:49 PM

Re: steering ball replacement

15 or 20 years ago I believe that was the normal way that the balls were replaced. I never had any trouble with them. Since then I have had Wylie Higgins in Georgia replace the worn out balls. He cuts off the old balls and drills out a hole. He inserts a new ball with a stud and back welds the stud at the bottom. I have had no trouble with these. He has written about them in the Restorer. I spoke to him a few months ago and he said that he has done over 5000 of them. He is alive and well and I had him do some for me a few weeks ago. His price is good.
Vic

Pmsqrd 01-31-2014 06:33 PM

You might call Bert's. They turn down the balls and weld on a drilled out bearing ball. That method does not comprimize the original casting. I have sets on both my cars with no problems.

montanafordman 01-31-2014 06:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pmsqrd (Post 814849)
You might call Bert's. They turn down the balls and weld on a drilled out bearing ball. That method does not comprimize the original casting. I have sets on both my cars with no problems.