The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   52 Ford F1 6 to 12 Volts (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=284380)

52 Ford 07-21-2020 11:38 AM

52 Ford F1 6 to 12 Volts

I have a 52 Ford f1 that all the wiring was shot and needed replaced. Everyone says to go ahead and convert to 12 volt system.
Can any give me a checklist of sorts for this conversion or a list of items needed to buy and change.
Maybe even a wiring diagram for the 12 volt system.
I've seen many posts on here about this subject but nothing that is a complete list or step by step instructions.

I am new to this wiring and want to get it right.
Thanks

Aarongriffey 07-21-2020 01:35 PM

Re: 52 Ford F1 6 to 12 Volts

I changed my F1 to 12 volts because I often rent trailers. Now I don’t have to change the trailer bulbs to 6 volts, and then back again.
You don’t need a different wiring diagram. You can even use a 6 volt wiring harness. The 6 volt wires are larger than you’ll need for 12 volts.
You need a new 12 volt voltage regulator, the generator will work just fine, you can have the starter changed inside for 12 volts but you can leave just the way it is. I’ll spin the engine over a lot faster but may not last as long.
You will need a gage resistor to reduce the power going to the gages that most early Ford suppliers sell and of coarse you will need to change all the bulbs in the lights to new 12 volt bulbs. And a group 24 battery.
A better option is to not listen to those who say you should change to 12 volts. Especially if you have a radio and/or a heater.

52 Ford 07-21-2020 01:58 PM

I do have the original radio, but do not know if it works.
So I can leave the original generator there just change out the voltage regulator to 12 volt? What about the starter relay?
What is a group 24 battery

warhorseracing 07-21-2020 03:02 PM