The Ford Barn

The Ford Barn (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/index.php)
-   Early V8 (1932-53) (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   master cylinder (https://www.fordbarn.com/forum/showthread.php?t=279374)

Raffyjoy1102 04-13-2020 12:11 PM

master cylinder

Hi to all,

I have a brand new master cylinder for a 1939 1/2 ton pickup. I am unable to open/remove the filler cap, i don't want to force it for fear of ruining it. I want to bench bleed it prior to installation, Anybody out there who has experienced this?

19Fordy 04-13-2020 12:33 PM

Re: master cylinder

Put it in a vise. Use a wrench with a long breaker bar, like a piece of hollow pipe.

Raffyjoy1102 04-13-2020 01:36 PM

Thanks for the tip 19fordy

richard crow 04-13-2020 03:20 PM

i meet it all the time for some reason people think you have to tighten the cap very tight. most m.s are made of cast iron & the caps alum. now add brake fluid witch attracts mosture & six months later even king kong cant remove it. i have had to brake some caps remember to just make the cap snug. a little over hand tight if you use dot 5 you dont have this problem a lot of the replament m.c have plastic caps i guess they finely figred it out

V8COOPMAN 04-13-2020 03:27 PM

Lefty-loosie! Dd

V8COOPMAN 04-13-2020 03:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 19Fordy (Post 1873910)
Put it in a vise. Use a wrench with a long breaker bar, like a piece of hollow pipe.

Is there such a thing as UN-HOLLOW pipe? DD

V8COOPMAN 04-13-2020 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 19Fordy (Post 1873910)

19Fourdy......You DO know what the technical definition of PIPE is, don't you? DD

QUALITY ASSURANCE

SPECIFICATION WAP-007
PAGE 1 OF 1
REVISION 0

PIPING SPECIFICATIONS

All pipe is to be made of a long hole, surrounded by metal centered around the hole.
All pipe is to be hollow throughout the entire length.
All pipe is to be of the very best quality, preferably tubular or pipular.