Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 01:11 PM   #1
Pilotdave
Senior Member
 
Pilotdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Grafton, MA
Posts: 884
Default Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

I'm having an issue with the pop-out switch on my '30 Tudor. Did a quick search and haven't found the answer yet, so here goes.

The issue is that the switch doesn't pop. I THINK it's stuck in the "in" position since I can turn the key and start the car. Have I got that right? And does anyone have advice on how to get the switch to pop "out" again?

Thanks!
Dave
Pilotdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 02:45 PM   #2
Art Bjornestad
Senior Member
 
Art Bjornestad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Westlake Village, CA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

I soaked my "head" in silicone spray and exercised it until it was working again. No trouble since.
Art Bjornestad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-29-2010, 02:53 PM   #3
Jason in TX
Senior Member
 
Jason in TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ⓉⒺXⒶⓈ
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

Are you positive you have a pop out ignition switch and not a modern switch? I see that you posted on November 6th that you are new to the Model A world and that you have been reading a lot of reference material about them.

There are quite a lot of Model As that have converted the key switch to just a modern keyed turn lock with a knurled ring around it trying to make it look like a pop out switch. So perhaps the keyed switch in your car isn't a pop out switch.

Otherwise, Art is on the money with his suggestion.
__________________
--------------
Drive it like you know how to fix it!
Jason in TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 03:54 PM   #4
Pilotdave
Senior Member
 
Pilotdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Grafton, MA
Posts: 884
Default Re: Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

You raise a good point, Elrod! I am new to Model A's, so it's possible that I have a pop-out wanna-be. Is there a way to tell visually whether it's the real thing? If not, would it do any harm to apply Art's suggestion and find out experimentally? Thanks, both of you.
Pilotdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:07 PM   #5
Jason in TX
Senior Member
 
Jason in TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: ⓉⒺXⒶⓈ
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

If you remove the 4 screws holding the chrome dash panel on and behind it you have just two screw terminals with the wires connected to them, it's a fake.



If it looks something like the below picture, you've got the real deal.



__________________
--------------
Drive it like you know how to fix it!

Last edited by Jason in TX; 11-29-2010 at 04:12 PM.
Jason in TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:20 PM   #6
gunmetal blue
Senior Member
 
gunmetal blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milford, Indiana
Posts: 367
Send a message via Yahoo to gunmetal blue
Default Re: Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

If you turn the key to the start position if you can pull the key out it is a good chance that it is. my 2 cents
gunmetal blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:31 PM   #7
Tom Wesenberg
Senior Member
 
Tom Wesenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 14,426
Default Re: Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

In addition to what's already posted, a real popout won't connect the coil to the points until it pops out. If you can turn your key to the right and start the engine without it poping out, then you must have an aftermarket non-popout.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:49 PM   #8
Pilotdave
Senior Member
 
Pilotdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Grafton, MA
Posts: 884
Default Re: Pop-out Ignition Switch Not Popping!

Thanks for the good guidance. I pulled the instrument panel. Definitely not a pop-out switch. One more thing to add to the to-do list! In the meantime, I'll just have to live with it as is.

Thanks again.
Pilotdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.