Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 11-18-2014, 12:26 PM   #1
jyakel

Default Looking to buy a Model A Ford, need your advice

Hello learned ladies and gentlemen,
I am brand new to the Ford Barn site. I have spent several hours reading the questions and comments from members in the various ‘threads’. I can tell the current Ford Barn members are truly willing to help other members and are passionate about their old Fords.
So, let me ask you for your advice. I am looking to buy a Model A Ford. I have always wanted one and I happened upon a very nice one for sale. It appears to be in very good to excellent condition. The current owner claims it is a very original car (still 6V, still mechanical brakes, no turn signals, no second tail light etc, etc.)
I’m looking for a safe and fun weekly driver Model A, not a Barrett Jackson auction car. So, what should I know before I go and look at this Model A? I know my question is very general and maybe too vague, but I really would like you to respond with any advice.

Here are my thoughts right now:
  • I’m not buying this Model A as an investment. I want to drive it, enjoy it, and share it with my grandchildren.
  • I know Model A parts are readily available, which is good!
  • Are mechanical brakes safe? Will they stop the car?
  • Can a Model A reasonably keep up with traffic? What would you say is a safe top speed for a Model A?
  • The current owner claims his Model A is a 1931, however, I noticed in the pictures of his Model A that the firewall does not have the ‘teardrop’ indent for the gas shutoff. Did early ‘31’s not have the teardrop indent?

Please Ford Barn members, point me in the right direction. Your help will be greatly appreciated by this newbie.
Sincerely,
John
jyakel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 12:33 PM   #2
Mitch//pa
BANNED

Default Re: Looking to buy a Model A Ford, need your advice

Hi John,