Go Back   The Ford Barn > General Discussion > Model A (1928-31)

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 08-30-2014, 05:09 PM   #1
FrankWest

Default removing engine and transmission

Is removing and engine and transmission and then reinstalling it back into the car a major tweaking deal or is it a just unbolt lifet then drop into place and rebolt.
I have never done it before but contemplating because if the work I have to do on my engine, may be easier doing it in a rotating motor mount stand rather than under my car! Don;t know if it is a real art to drop a motor back in a get everything aligned properly? Please offer suggestions.

Last edited by FrankWest; 08-30-2014 at 05:15 PM.
FrankWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 05:38 PM   #2
Tom Wesenberg

Default Re: removing engine and transmission

What work are you going to do?
I don't think it's such a bad job to remove the headlamp bar, radiator and engine. Be sure to remove the throttle cross shaft before moving the engine. I always remove just the engine and leave the tranny in place, even if both need to be worked on.

If the body is off, then I'd remove the engine and tranny as one piece.
Tom Wesenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 05:44 PM   #3
1930artdeco

Two things I can think of:

-Removing the steering box/wheel as it is in the way.
-I "think" the engine/tranny have to come straight forward then out so the u-joint clears? I don't know how much of an angle you have to play with.

Mike
Old 08-30-2014, 06:09 PM   #4
Domino

Send a message via AIM to Domino

I have done it multiple times and it wasn't difficult at all. In fact it was basically a Saturday job assuming you have an engine lift, etc.
Domino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 07:45 PM   #5
Tom Endy

If you have solid rear motor mounts you may need a frame spreader. You might get it out without one, but getting the engine back in may be difficult.

Tom Endy